World Youth Day USA Guides International Pilgrimage Leaders Guide - Page 58

Especially when walking around Kraków (or on to the new schedule (and be aware that, even if the journey to Poland), please encourage the group members’ eyes have adjusted, their group to put their cell phones away and pay bodily functions may not; groups should plan attention their surrounding areas. Leaders their bathroom breaks accordingly when should pay attention to pilgrims who may stop traveling). Prior to the return trip, leaders to use their phones for taking pictures or using should advise their pilgrims that they may also it for emergency calls. It is important to stay need some time to recover and re-adjust their vigilant with mobile devices while traveling. sleeping patterns and cycles to a normal routine upon re-entry into the United States. Time Change Kraków and Poland (and most of the European Passports and International Travel continent, except for the British Isles) is six Traveling internationally involves additional hours ahead of the Eastern Time Zone, nine challenges for World Youth Day pilgrims. The hours ahead of the Pacific Time Zone, and U.S. Department of State has a website eleven hours ahead of the Hawaii-Aleutian (http://travel.state.gov/content/visas/english/ Time Zone during the summer months, when general/americans-traveling-abroad.html) to World Youth Day will take place. assist United States citizens traveling abroad and specific information for traveling to Poland For example, 6:00 P.M. in Kraków is 12:00 including important travel warnings and alerts P.M. in New York, 11:00 A.M. in Chicago, (http://travel.state.gov/content/passports/en/ 10:00 A.M. in Denver, 9:00 A.M in Los country/poland.html). Angeles, 8:00 A.M. in Alaska, and 7:00 A.M. in Hawaii. There is also more common usage of United States citizens will need a valid U.S. the 24-hour clock in Europe (for instance, passport to travel to Poland and that it has 18:00 instead of 6:00 P.M.); consequently, at least six months of validity left for pilgrims should be aware of how to quickly and international travel (which means passports accurately tell time using this system. used for the trip to Kraków should be valid through February 1, 2017 or later). On the first day of arrival in Europe, pilgrims (and leaders) should give themselves a few International travelers are encouraged to hours of rest to catch up on the sleep lost on register their trip with the United States State the flight over; it may take a few days to adjust Department Safe Traveler Enrollment Program 56