Wall Street Letter Volume XLV Issue 21 - Page 3

NEWS 27 JUNE – 3 JULY 2013 TECHNOLOGY Published by Pageant Media London Thavies Inn House London EC1N 2HA T +44 (0) 20 7832 6500 F +44 (0) 20 7832 6501 EDITORIAL Jeanene Timberlake Managing editor +1 212 268 4910 j.timberlake@pageantmedia.com Ryan Gorman Reporter +1 212 268 4900 r.gorman@pageantmedia.com Gwyn Roberts Group head of content +44 (0) 20 7832 6623 g.roberts@pageantmedia.com Indira Peters-DiDio Data manager +1 212 268 4919 i.peters@pageantmedia.com PRODUCTION Claudia Honerjager Head of production c.honerjager@ pageantmedia.com New York 240 W 37th St. Suite 302, NY 10018 T +1 212 268 4919 F +1 212 268 4999 COMMERCIAL Lucy Churchill Group commercial manager +44 (0) 20 7832 6615 l.churchill@pageantmedia.com Stefano Giacoia Content Sales Manager +44 (0) 20 7832 6587 s.giacoia@pageantmedia.com EVENTS Beth Hall Head of events +44 (0) 20 7832 6576 b.hall@pageantmedia.com DISTRIBUTION Fay Muddle Circulation manager +44 (0) 20 7832 6524 f.muddle@pageantmedia.com PAGEANT MEDIA Charlie Kerr Chief executive Printed by The Manson Group CFN’s TradingHUB targets the nonlatency sensitive CFN Services’ newest cloud infrastructure offering, TradingHUB, targets firms with less sensitivity to latency but with a need for high-performance connectivity, according to Paul Edelmann, senior vice president for professional services. The infrastructure provider unveiled the offering, TradingHUB, last week at the Securities Industry & Financial Markets Association’s Tech 2013 conference in New York. The service provides secure connectivity to trading venues and trading counterparties using CFN’s Alpha Platform cloud as a backbone. The connectivity for TradingHUB is carried by the service provider’s ultralow latency network but without impacting those users by using dedicated ports for TradingHUB connectivity, Edelmann explained. The addition responds to demand heard recently by the infrastructure provider as it serviced clients in other areas of its business, said Edelmann. “We ran into folks that said they don’t care about nanoseconds. They do care about microseconds, and we found that there are a lot of people like that,” he said. “We just noticed that... there are thousands of customers that need network service like that, and we can provide it in places where we are already established.” TECHNOLOGY Bonaire to launch fee reconciliation service Bonaire is gearing up to launch a service to simplify the reconciliation of fees charged between broker-dealers, exchanges and investment banks, according to Terrence Faherty, head of product strategy. Faherty said the vendor has been working to bring the offering to life since February. Development started as the result of a discussion with clients on the firm’s Client Advisory Council, Faherty told WSL last week on the sidelines of this year’s Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association Technology Conference involved with industry groups currently working on the issue, concerns about test liquidity, capacity and stress could be managed, and other issues – such as applying the same tickers to testing in non-equities asset classes – could also be dealt with. James Angel, associate professor of finance at Georgetown University, also fo ??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????!???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????q%?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????t????????????????M $?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????((??()M?????????????M??????M???????1???Q???????M???????((??() =9Q%9U???()%MM8??????????? ??????A??????5?????1?????????????????? =AeI%!P?9=Q% ??9??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????A??????5?????e?????????????????? ?????????????????????????????????????????????? ???????1?????UM ???????????Y?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????e?????()Q???????)?????????????????????????)]10?MQIP?1QQH((??????()Q???????????????????????????????????????????????????????U?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????(+?q??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????%`??????????????????????????????????????????????????????t??????????qQ???????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????? ??????????????????????????t?Q????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????9????=5`?????????9eM???????????????????????????????!????????????? ???????????((