Walking On Volume 6, Issue 2, February 2019 - Page 3

walking horse owners’ association P.O. Box 4007, Murfreesboro TN 37129 (615)494-8822 • joinwhoa@aol.com www.walkinghorseowners.com WHOA Staff Tommy Hall . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Executive Director Teresa Owen . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Secretary Joyce Taylor . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Bookkeeper WHOA Board of Directors Dr. Jana Anderson, boldstridestables@yahoo.com Jason Bachert, jasonb@mannapro.com Kim Bennett, cowboykim58@gmail.com Jodi DeDecker Bubar, jodidedecker@hotmail.com Martha Child, marthachild@bellsouth.net Amy Cross-Nance, amy@amycrossnance.com Jean Marie Degville, monette570@aol.com Crystal Deputy, cld2506@vt.edu Kyle Elliott, kyle-matthew-elliott@yahoo.com Vic Gernt, vgernt@tntech.edu Darden Gladney, dgladney@glenbrookschool.com Jessica Hlebak, jhlebak@ncsu.edu Charles Howard, cbh51@earthlink.net Phyllis Langley, wswh@intermaxnetworks.com Rhonda Martocci, President, rmartocci@comcast.net Dee Dee Miller-Sale, Pro-Tem, maskr8ng@aol.com Maggie Moore, maggiemoore615@gmail.com Peggy Moore, peggymore515@yahoo.com Frank Neal, fneal@feneal.com Sis Osborne, sisosborne@tds.net David Pruett, dpruett@comcast.net Darrin Sisk, dsisk@collectordsn.org Sherrie Szucs, ssrunwalk@gmail.com Mark Taylor, markktaylor@realtracs.com Lynn Womack, glwomack11@gmail.com John Wright, jhwright@edge.net The Walking Horse Owners Association (WHOA), head- quartered in Murfreesboro, Tennessee, was founded in 1976 to represent the interests in all matters pertaining to the sound Tennessee Walking Horse. WHOA’s goals are to advocate for fair and equal treatment of all members and to promote and protect the welfare of the breed. WHOA develops and supports programs that increase the value of Tennessee Walking Horses and enhances members experiences with their horses. Volume 6, Issue 2, February 2019 walking_on@aol.com Creative Director . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Sarah Gee Contributing Editor. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Sis Osborne In This Issue Features WHOA Gala Celebrates 40 Years. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 12 Columns WHOA Dispatch . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4 For the Health of It . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6 Back to Basics. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8 WHOA Awards. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 22 Sections Walking On Bulletin Board . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10 Ads Big Time Charlie . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5 Blacklist. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 9 Dangerous Willy. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11 Gladney, Dr. John. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5 Happy Trails Program. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 30 Hello Hello . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5 Jazzy Reba. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 9 Jose In Dixie . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7 Light’Em Up . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5 My Sophia . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 9 Pusher’s Guarded Secret. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7 Spring Fling Show . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 20 TWHF . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10 Walking For The Future Spring Fling. . . . . . . . . . . 21 Walking On. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2, 29 WHOA Academy/Schooling Shows. . . . . . . . . . 18, 19 The opinions and statements expressed in articles, columns, and advertisements are not necessarily the viewpoint or position of the magazine or the Walking Horse Owners’ Association (WHOA). Walking On is not responsible for view- points and statements expressed in articles, columns, and paid advertisements. Reproduction of advertising or editorial content without the express consent of WHOA is strictly prohibited. WHOA reserves the right to edit submissions for content, style and space. WHOA also reserves the right to refuse any advertising for any reason. 3