Walking On Volume 4, Issue 9, September 2017 - Page 3

walking horse owners’ association P.O. Box 4007, Murfreesboro TN 37129 (615)494-8822 • joinwhoa@aol.com www.walkinghorseowners.com WHOA Staff Tommy Hall . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Executive Director Teresa Owen . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Secretary Joyce Taylor . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Bookkeeper WHOA Board of Directors Dr. Jana Anderson, boldstridestables@yahoo.com Jason Bachert, jasonb@mannapro.com Kim Bennett, cowboykim58@gmail.com Jill Beech, janesaddiction2014@gmail.com Martha Child, marthachild@bellsouth.net Jodi DeDecker Bubar, jodidedecker@hotmail.com Kyle Elliott, kyle-matthew-elliott@yahoo.com Darden Gladney, dgladney@glenbrookschool.com Carole Hill, carolehill@gsu.edu Dennis Hills, dhills@championsmercantile.com Caroline Hoffman, siegelcaroline@hotmail.com Phyllis Langley, wswh@intermaxnetworks.com Rhonda Martocci, President, rmartocci@comcast.net Dee Dee Miller-Sale, Pro-Tem, maskr8ng@aol.com Maggie Moore, maggiemoore615@gmail.com Peggy Moore, peggymore515@yahoo.com Amy Cross Nance, amy@amycrossnance.com Frank Neal, fneal@feneal.com Nancy O’Dell Plunkett, bmwalker@frontier.net Sis Osborne, sisosborne@tds.net Kathy Owen, doublesprings.ko1954@gmail.com David Pruett, dpruett@comcast.net Sherrie Szucs, ssrunwalk@gmail.com Mark Taylor, markktaylor@realtracs.com Lynn Womack, glwomack11@gmail.com John Wright, skkkkk@charter.net The Walking Horse Owners Association (WHOA), head- quartered in Murfreesboro, Tennessee, was founded in 1976 to represent the interests in all matters pertaining to the sound Tennessee Walking Horse. WHOA’s goals are to advocate for fair and equal treatment of all members and to promote and protect the welfare of the breed. WHOA develops and supports programs that increase the value of Tennessee Walking Horses and enhances members experiences with their horses. Volume 4, Issue 9, September 2017 walking_on@aol.com Creative Director . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Sarah Gee Contributing Editor. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Sis Osborne In This Issue Columns WHOA Dispatch . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4 Back to Basics. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 6 For the Health of It . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8 Industry Info. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10 Show Results. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 16 Events/Shows WHOA Show, Brownsville KY. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 12 Tennessee State Fair Horse Show. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 14 Tennesse State Fair Service Horse Competition. . 14 Sections Walking On Bulletin Board . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4 Ads Happy Trails Program. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 22 KY Walking Horse Breeders Incentive Show. . . . . . 7 Moore, Peggy . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2 TWHF . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 15 Walking On. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13, 21 WHOA Fall Classic . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11 WHOA Show, Murfreesboro TN. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 9 WHOA Show, Perryville MO. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5 The opinions and statements expressed in articles, columns, and advertisements are not necessarily the viewpoint or position of the magazine or the Walking Horse Owners’ Association (WHOA). Walking On is not responsible for view- points and statements expressed in articles, columns, and paid advertisements. Reproduction of advertising or editorial content without the express consent of WHOA is strictly prohibited. WHOA reserves the right to edit submissions for content, style and space. WHOA also reserves the right to refuse any advertising for any reason. 3