Walking On Volume 3, Issue 2, February 2016 - Page 3

walking horse owners’ association P.O. Box 4007, Murfreesboro TN 37129 (615)494-8822 • joinwhoa@aol.com www.walkinghorseowners.com WHOA Staff Tommy Hall . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Executive Director Teresa Owen . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Secretary Joyce Taylor . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Bookkeeper Volume 3, Issue 2, February 2016 walking_on@aol.com Publication Coordinator. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Sarah Gee In This Issue WHOA Board of Directors Features Dr. Jana Anderson, boldstridestables@yahoo.com Jason Bachert, jasonb@mannapro.com Jill Beech, janesaddiction2014@gmail.com Kim Bennett, Pro-Tem, cowboykim58@gmail.com Martha Child, marthachild@bellsouth.net Kevin Gilliam, kevingilliam2569@gmail.com Darden Gladney, dgladney@glenbrookschool.com Darren Gray, dgray428@gmail.com Sandy Harris, sandyharris55@ymail.com Carole Hill, carolehill@gsu.edu Dennis Hills, dhills@championsmercantile.com Caroline Hoffman, siegelcaroline@hotmail.com Phyllis Langley, wswh@intermaxnetworks.com Rhonda Martocci, rmartocci@comcast.net Dee Dee Miller-Sale, President, maskr8ng@aol.com Maggie Moore, maggie@walkingwithfriends.com Peggy Moore, peggymoore515@yahoo.com Frank E. Neal, fneal@feneal.com Nancy O’Dell Plunkett, bmwalker@frontier.com Kathy Owen, doublesprings.ko@gmail.com Newton Parks, nparks@realtracs.com David Pruett, dpruett@comcast.net Sherrie Szucs, ssrunwalk@gmail.com Mark Taylor, markktaylor69@yahoo.com Duke Thorson, dukethorson@aol.com Lynn Womack, womackl@rcs.k12.tn.us Member Spotlight, Jodi DeDecker-Bubar & Gary Bubar. 7 The Walking Horse Owners Association (WHOA), headquartered in Murfreesboro, Tennessee, was founded in 1976 to represent the interests in all matters pertaining to the sound Tennessee Walking Horse. WHOA’s goals are to advocate for fair and equal treatment of all members and to promote and protect the welfare of the breed. WHOA develops and supports programs that increase the value of Tennessee Walking Horses and enhances members experiences with their horses. Walking On. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 2 Columns WHOA Dispatch . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 4 Bits and Pieces . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8 For the Health of It. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 22 Back To Basics. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 24 Events/Show WHOA Awards Banquet. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10 Ads Cash Blaster . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 19 Enchanted Wolf . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 15 Equine Affaire. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 26 Frostmark’s Storm . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 19 Gary Lane Clinic . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 23 Happy Trails Program. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 9 He Owns The Night . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 15 Ladies Retreat. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 25 Maximizer. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 19 Night Wolf. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 15 Reveal The Storm. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 13 Victory Trip. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 21 The opinions and statements expressed in articles, columns, and advertisements are not necessarily the viewpoint or position of the magazine or the Walking Horse Owners’ Association (WHOA). Walking On is not responsible for viewpoints and statements expressed in articles, columns, and paid advertisements. Reproduction of advertising or editorial content without the express consent of WHOA is strictly prohibited. WHOA reserves the right to edit submissions for content, style and space. WHOA also reserves the right to refuse any advertising for any reason. 3