VFRC Publications - Page 37

VFRC’s Governing & Operating Structure VFRC Board of Advisors While VFRC legally operates as an initiative of IFDC and is ultimately the fiduciary responsibility of the Board of Directors (BoD) of IFDC, it operates with significant autonomy with its own Charter with the legal force of the IFDC Bylaw and its own Board of Advisors (BoA) established in May 2010. A small core staff, led by the Executive Director, is located in Washington, D.C., to coordinate and monitor the VFRC’s activities and ensure high scientific quality of its publications. Administrative support in financial matters, human resource management and communication is provided by the facilitating units of IFDC. The Executive Director reports to the President and CEO of IFDC and is responsible for the day-to-day operations of the VFRC and overall program and project management. The VFRC generates its own funding, distinct from IFDC, but legally reflected in IFDC’s accounts, to cover the VFRC operating budget and for project grants. Funding for the initial period of five years has been provided primarily by USAID, supplemented by core funding of IFDC, contributions of partner institutions in research project, operational expenses by various sources and funds from research foundations. Dr. Roelof (Rudy) Rabbinge* Chair, Science Council of the Consultative Group on International Agricultural Research (CGIAR) University Professor, Dean of Wageningen Graduate Schools The Netherlands Dr. Jimmy G. Cheek Chancellor, The University of Tennessee 527 Andy Holt Tower Knoxville, Tennessee, USA Mr. Peter McPherson President, Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities (APLU) Washington, D.C., USA Dr. Frank A. Franklin* University of Alabama - Birmingham Birmingham, Alabama, USA Dr. Fusuo Zhang* Professor, College of Resources and Environmental Sciences China Agricultural University CHINA Mr. Satish Chander* Director General, The Fertiliser Association of India New Delhi, INDIA Dr. Melissa D. Ho Bureau for Food Security U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) Washington D.C., USA Dr. Marco Ferroni* Executive Director, Syngenta Foundation for Sustainable Agriculture Basil, Switzerland Hon. Ruth Oniang’o Founder & Chair Board of Trustees, Rural Outreach Program Chairperson, Sasakawa Africa Association (SAA) Nairobi, Kenya Dr. Juergen Voegele Director, Agricultural and Rural Development Department The World Bank, Washington D.C., USA Dr. J. Scott Angle CEO and President of IFDC Muscle Shoals, Alabama, USA Dr. Cheng-i-Wei* Professor, Dean & Director Agricultural Experiment Station. College of Agriculture & Natural Resources University of Maryland *Appearing on photograph (Weifeng Zhang for Fusuo Zhang and Amit Roy for Scott Angle) 33