Map and Flag The sun emblem is the symbol of freedom and independence. The nine stripes represent the nine provinces of Uruguay which existed at the time of the flags creation. The Uruguay flag was accepted in july, 1830 makeing it one of the world's oldest flags. When it was first adopted in 1828 it had 17 stripes but it was reduced to nine in 1830. Uruguay declared independence from Brazil on August 25 1825.