UKSPA Directory 2017 2017-18 - Page 310

310 UKSPA Board UKSPA Directory 2017 UKSPA Board The strategic direction of the Association is determined by a Board of ten people (including UKSPA’s CEO), elected by the UK Science Park Association membership Full biographies of all UKSPA Board Members can be found at w w / our-association George Walker MRICS Vice Chairman Dr David J Hardman MBE Chairman David is Chief Executive Officer of Innovation Birmingham, which manages the Innovation Birmingham Campus on Birmingham Science Park Aston. Since arriving in Birmingham in late 2008, he has developed and led a new strategy to build on the 35 years’ legacy of the Science Park to place it at the heart of Birmingham’s digital/tech community. This approach reflects his belief in the function of innovation ecologies (science parks) as aggregators and orchestrators of talent – infrastructures that create linkages across the knowledge economy. Previously, David spent 10 years based in Cambridge leading the commercial development of the Babraham Research Campus. David was awarded an MBE for services to science in 2009. David is also on the Board of Birmingham Science City and Aston Business Loans; is Chair of Digital Leaders West Midlands; and sits on the Greater Birmingham and Solihull LEP’s Enterprise and Skills Board as the LEP’s Digital Sector and Skills Champion. George Walker MRICS is a General Practice Chartered Surveyor who spent 25 years working in the coal industry. He worked for British Coal until 1997, when, as Principal Estates Surveyor for Scotland, he was involved in the sale of the core mining business and surplus land and property as part of the coal industry privatisation process. George has been Park Manager at Pentlands Science Park for 16 years and is responsible for all as