UK Darts Issue 9 - December 2013 - Page 31

the 2006 BDO tournament at Lakeside, the New Year’s showdown saw the reigning Champions of both organisations face off in a colossal clash between two of the sport’s biggest stars. The Power entered the final on a 21-match winning streak, having last tasted defeat in the 2003 final at the hands of John Part, and looking to claim his fourth consecutive title. However, his newest challenger clearly had the potential to dethrone the 13-time Champion and fan hype was almost unprecedented. Nevertheless, nobody could have anticipated the Photo: PDC drama that lay ahead. Aside from a second round scare against Colin Lloyd for RvB, both competitors had eased through to the grandest stage of all. Each player had breezed through the semi-final stage with 6-0 whitewash victories with Taylor recording an incredible 3-dart Of All Time... average of 106.23 as he demolished Hamilton with consummate ease. It was ‘the Power’ who continued that fine form in the early stages of this epic encounter, winning each of the first eight legs on route to taking a 3-0 lead that threatened to install an unexciting one-sided final. However, van Barneveld was far from finished. Barney came back by taking the 4th set 3-0. Perhaps more tellingly though was the Dutchman’s incredible maximum 170 checkout to complete it. Having finally found his stride, van Barneveld then took the 5th set Photo: PDC 3-2 to reduce the deficit to just one. With both men throwing some exceptional arrows, this final was really heating up. Sharing the next two sets by claiming one a piece left the scores at 4-3 in Taylor’s favour heading into the important 8th set. When Taylor took it to increase his lead to two, a fourth consecutive crown looked inevitable.