Torch:U.S. LXVII Spring 2018 - Page 2

Torch:U.S. Policy

The Torch:U.S. is published four times yearly as the official magazine of the National Junior Classical League. Issues are published in fall, winter, spring, and summer. It is entered as third-class material from the Oxford, Ohio, Post Office. The ideas expressed in the Opinion section are the comments of the Torch:U.S. and its staff and should not necessarily be considered the policy of the National Junior Classical League, its officers, or the National Committee. Readers are encouraged to express their opinions on any subject relevant to the classics or JCL in the Voices Section. Your name and address or title must be included with your submission. All names will be published. Submissions may be sent to the editor or the advisor (see addresses to the left).

Photo Credits

Jade Woods, Jewel Woods, Mardy Kramer, Ryan Vinson, Kiki Schmalfuss, Jesse Hogan, Meredith Kendall, Helena Holland, livius.org, Steve Gentle,

Torch:U.S. Staff

Editor

Jade Woods

Advisor

Kurt Ristroph

Marveling at Miami

BY JADE WOODS

2017-2018 NJCL Editor

"Ego vos hortari tantum possum, ut amicitiam omnibus rebus humanis anteponatis," Cicero wrote. "I urge you, as much as I am able, to place friendship before all human issues. The clock is winding down the days until we gather with our beloved JCL friends at the campus of Miami University for national convention. To get a brief glimpse of what Miami's stunning campus looks like, read on!

Exceptionally Ordinary Emperors

Pertinax. Didius Julianus. Hostilian. Numerian. Except for the certamenator or the enthusiastic student of history, these names jar only vague memories, if any. In this issue, learn about the Roman Emperors whom posterity has forgotten.

2

Junior Classical League Directory

NJCL Officers 2017–2018

President Mark Bechthold

president@njcl.org

First Vice President Timothy Han

vp1@njcl.org

Second Vice President Collin Kane

vp2@njcl.org

Communications Coordinator Lynn Ahrens

commcoordinator@njcl.org

Parliamentarian Sarah Lee

parliamentarian@njcl.org

Historian Ana Ohnersorgen

historian@njcl.org

Editor Jade Woods

editor@njcl.org

NSCL Officers 2017-2018

President Jack Godar

president@nscl.org

Vice President Grace McIntire

vp@nscl.org

Secretary Alexandra Pasamihalis

secretary@nscl.org

Treasurer Drew Alvarez

treasurer@nscl.org

Parliamentarian Thiru Vinayagam

parliamentarian@nscl.org

Editor Laci Lisenby

editor@nscl.org

Historian Susie Szymanski

historian@nscl.org

National Committee 2017-2018

Chair, Public Relations/Membership Catherine Sturgill

publicity@njcl.org

Vice Chair, Contests, Academics David Jackson

academics@njcl.org

Secretary, Communications Dobbie Vasquez

communications@njcl.org

Contests, Olympika/SCL Kyle McGimsey

olympika@njcl.org

Contests, Digital Generosa Sangco-Jackson

certamen@njcl.org

Contests, Creative Arts Seth Knowles

creativearts@njcl.org

Contests, Certamen William Lee

certamen@njcl.org

Convention Advisor Sue Robertson

convention@njcl.org

Programs/Scholastic Services Sherry Jankowski

programs@njcl.org

Constitutional Advisor Dennis Webb

constitution@njcl.org

Publications Kurt Ristroph

publications@njcl.org

Administrator/Ex-Officio Sherwin Little

administrator@njcl.org

860 NW Washington Boulevard, Suite A Hamilton, OH 45013

(513) 529-7741 • fax (513) 529-7742

2

Spring 2018· Torch:U.S. · DIRECTORY

Vo(i)ces