Torch:U.S. LXVI Fall 2016 - Page 2

Torch:U.S. Policy

The Torch:U.S. is published four times yearly as the official magazine of the National Junior Classical League. Issues are published in fall, winter, spring, and summer. It is entered as third-class material from the Oxford, Ohio, Post Office. The ideas expressed in the Opinion section are the comments of the Torch:U.S. and its staff and should not necessarily be considered the policy of the National Junior Classical League, its officers, or the National Committee. Readers are encouraged to express their opinions on any subject relevant to the classics or JCL in the Voices Section. Your name and address or title must be included with your submission. All names will be published. Submissions may be sent to the editor or the advisor (see addresses to the left).

Photo Credits

Martina Bright. Becki Bush, Sarah Christian, Steve Gentle, Caitlin Johnston, Woojin Lee, Kevin Rutherford, Ryan Vinson, Eric Wang. Dennis Webb

Torch:U.S. Staff

Editor

Angela Kubicke, Woojin Lee

Advisor

Caitlin Johnston

Bye Bye Indiana

BY ANGELA KUBICKE

2017 NJCL Editor

Indiana has said goodbye to many people: Bobby Knight, Michael Jackson, and Lil Sebastian. But perhaps the hardest goodbye of all was to the NJCL. On behalf of the NJCL, I would like to thank the Hoosier JCLers. From the moment a JCLer stepped off the bus to the moment they left, your beautiful state was willing to help with a big smile. Thank you to Indiana University. There are no words to describe how grateful we are to have used your campus. There is not a single JCLer that will not remember your campus as a place where they grew their love for the classics. In addition, we want to thank the Executive Board for its cheerfulness and relentless hard work. Lastly, to the sponsors and chaperones along with the National Committee: without you all we would just be Latin students sitting in our classrooms. You all make it possible for us to follow our passion. Once again, thank you to everyone who participated in the national convention this year and we will see you next year in Alabama!

2

Fall 2016 · Torch:U.S. · CONVENTION THANK YOU

Photo Creds thus far:

Martina Bright. Becki Bush, Sarah Christian, Steve Gentle, Caitlin Johnston, Woojin Lee, Kevin Rutherford, Ryan Vinson, Eric Wang

Steve Gentle

Ryan Vinson

Caitlin Johnston

Sarah Christian

Kevin Rutherford

Photo (cover page): IU Auditorium, JCL logo

Photo Credits: Cailtin Johnston

Junior Classical League Directory

NJCL Officers 2016–2017

President Lyle Seeligson

president@njcl.org

First Vice President Emmalee Volk

vp1@njcl.org

Second Vice President Trinidad Kechkian

vp2@njcl.org

Communications Coordinator Shay Pezzulo

commcoordinator@njcl.org

Parliamentarian Ram Gollapudy

parliamentarian@njcl.org

Historian Eric Wang

historian@njcl.org

Editor Angela Kubicke

editor@njcl.org

NSCL Officers 2016-2017

President Bob McDonald

president@nscl.org

Vice President Elliott Rebello

vp@nscl.org

Secretary Jack Godar

secretary@nscl.org

Treasurer Heather Smith

treasurer@nscl.org

Parliamentarian Ake Kankirawatana

parliamentarian@nscl.org

Editor Trace Turner

editor@nscl.org

Historian Sydney Higa

historian@nscl.org

National Committee 2016-2017

Chair, Public Relations/Membership Catherine Sturgill

publicity@njcl.org

Vice Chair, Contests, Academics David Jackson

academics@njcl.org

Secretary, Communications Dobbie Vasquez

communications@njcl.org

Constitutional Advisor Dennis Webb

constitution@njcl.org

Contests, Certamen William Lee

certamen@njcl.org

Contests, Creative Arts Seth Knowles

creativearts@njcl.org

Contests, Digital Generosa Sangco-Jackson

digicon@njcl.org

Contests, Graphic Arts Melissa Burgess

graphicarts@njcl.org

Contests, Olympika/SCL Kyle McGimsey

olympika@njcl.org

Convention Advisor Sue Robertson

convention@njcl.org

Programs/Scholastic Services Sherry Jankowski

programs@njcl.org

Publications Caitlin Johnston

publications@njcl.org

Administrator/Ex-Officio Sherwin Little

860 NW Washington Boulevard, Suite A Hamilton, OH 45013

(513) 529-7741 • fax (513) 529-7742 • administrator@njcl.org