Torch:U.S. LXV Winter 2014-2015 - Page 2

Junior Classical League Directory

NJCL Officers 2015–2016

President Brier Anne Clough

president@njcl.org

First Vice President Michael Kearney

vp1@njcl.org

Second Vice President Hanna Seariac

vp2@njcl.org

Communications Coordinator Jon Nozik

commcoordinator@njcl.org

Parliamentarian Amanda Hansen

parliamentarian@njcl.org

Historian Hannah Barrett

historian@njcl.org

Editor Woojin Lee

editor@njcl.org

NSCL Officers 2015-2016

President Trace Turner

president@nscl.org

Vice President Kathryn Szymanski

vp@nscl.org

Secretary Maddie Briner

secretary@nscl.org

Treasurer Jon Gumz

treasurer@nscl.org

Parliamentarian Bob McDonald

parliamentarian@nscl.org

Editor Jack Godar

editor@nscl.org

Historian Sarah Christian

historian@nscl.org

National Committee 2015-2016

Chair, Contests, Creative Arts Amy Elifrits

creativearts@njcl.org

Vice Chair, Contests, Graphic Arts Melissa Burgess

graphicarts@njcl.org

Secretary, Communications Dobbie Vasquez

communications@njcl.org

Contests, Olympika/SCL Tony Martin

olympika@njcl.org

Contests, Digital Tom Reed

digicon@njcl.org

Public Relations/Membership Catherine Sturgill

publicity@njcl.org

Contests, Certamen William Lee

certamen@njcl.org

Convention Advisor Sue Robertson

convention@njcl.org

Programs/Scholastic Services Sherry Jankowski

programs@njcl.org

Constitutional Advisor Dennis Webb

constitution@njcl.org

Contests, Academics David Jackson

academics@njcl.org

Publications Caitlin Johnston

publications@njcl.org

Administrator/Ex-Officio Sherwin Little

860 NW Washington Boulevard, Suite A Hamilton, OH 45013

(513) 529-7741 • fax (513) 529-7742 • administrator@njcl.org

2

Winter 2015-2016 · Torch: U.S.

Here We Go! On an Adventure!

The NJCL convention has been held in Indiana five times already and four at the University in Bloomington, However, each convention is a new experience. For those who will be going to their 20th convention or their first next year, we ask you to join us in Indiana.

Indiana is known for Hoosiers, the Indy 500, and corn. Lots of corn. Indiana also reminds us of Indiana Jones, an archaeologist who goes on many adventures. The NJCL convention is always an adventure because it is always a new experience. Next year, at the 64th NJCL convention, challenge yourself to experience something new. Join the officers in their own quests starting on page 8.

Written in the Stars

Winter is the perfect time to go to the observatory and view the sky. To some the observatory may be a favorite childhood memory, and to others astronomy may be a future career option. For the JCL, astronomy and the classics have close connections. Learn from Joey Chatelain on how the two are related and how you can get involved with astronomy. Read about one JCL delegate's experience with astronomy.

Torch:U.S. Policy

The Torch:U.S. is published four times yearly as the official magazine of the National Junior Classical League. Issues are published in fall, winter, spring, and summer. The ideas expressed in the Opinion section are the comments of the Torch:U.S. and its staff and should not necessarily be considered the policy of the National Junior Classical League, its officers, or the National Committee. Readers are encouraged to express their opinions on any subject relevant to the classics or JCL in the Voices Section. Your name and address or title must be included with your submission. All names will be published. Submissions may be sent to the editor or the advisor (see addresses to the left).

Photo Credits

Caitlin Johnston, Hannah Barrett, Dennis Webb, Woojin Lee, Eric Wang, Julia Shin

Torch:U.S. Staff

Editor

Woojin Lee

Advisor

Caitlin Johnston