Torch:U.S. LXV Summer 2016 - Page 2

Junior Classical League Directory

NJCL Officers 2015–2016

President Brier Anne Clough

president@njcl.org

First Vice President Michael Kearney

vp1@njcl.org

Second Vice President Hanna Seariac

vp2@njcl.org

Communications Coordinator Jon Nozik

commcoordinator@njcl.org

Parliamentarian Amanda Hansen

parliamentarian@njcl.org

Historian Hannah Barrett

historian@njcl.org

Editor Woojin Lee

editor@njcl.org

NSCL Officers 2015-2016

President Trace Turner

president@nscl.org

Vice President Kathryn Szymanski

vp@nscl.org

Secretary Maddie Briner

secretary@nscl.org

Treasurer Jon Gumz

treasurer@nscl.org

Parliamentarian Bob McDonald

parliamentarian@nscl.org

Editor Jack Godar

editor@nscl.org

Historian Sarah Christian

historian@nscl.org

National Committee 2015-2016

Chair, Contests, Creative Arts Amy Elifrits

creativearts@njcl.org

Vice Chair, Contests, Graphic Arts Melissa Burgess

graphicarts@njcl.org

Secretary, Communications Dobbie Vasquez

communications@njcl.org

Contests, Olympika/SCL Tony Martin

olympika@njcl.org

Contests, Digital Tom Reed

digicon@njcl.org

Public Relations/Membership Catherine Sturgill

publicity@njcl.org

Contests, Certamen William Lee

certamen@njcl.org

Convention Advisor Sue Robertson

convention@njcl.org

Programs/Scholastic Services Sherry Jankowski

programs@njcl.org

Constitutional Advisor Dennis Webb

constitution@njcl.org

Contests, Academics David Jackson

academics@njcl.org

Publications Caitlin Johnston

publications@njcl.org

Administrator/Ex-Officio Sherwin Little

860 NW Washington Boulevard, Suite A Hamilton, OH 45013

(513) 529-7741 • fax (513) 529-7742 • administrator@njcl.org

2

Summer 2016 · Torch: U.S.

Bon Appetit!

From the first hunter-gatherers to the agricultural revolution, human civilizations have been defined by the food they eat. Today, cuisine overcomes barriers; a similar version of the food on the other side of the globe can be eaten at the restaurant right down the street. However, before we reached the cooking inventions of modern day, the classical world had their own food choices.

Some people eat to live, some people live to eat. Whichever you are, make sure you check out what the Romans and Ancient Greeks were dining on, and perhaps try a day where you eat like the ancients. Check out the article on page 8!

Torch:U.S. Policy

The Torch:U.S. is published four times yearly as the official magazine of the National Junior Classical League. Issues are published in fall, winter, spring, and summer. The ideas expressed in the Opinion section are the comments of the Torch:U.S. and its staff and should not necessarily be considered the policy of the National Junior Classical League, its officers, or the National Committee. Readers are encouraged to express their opinions on any subject relevant to the classics or JCL in the Voices Section. Your name and address or title must be included with your submission. All names will be published. Submissions may be sent to the editor or the advisor (see addresses to the left).

Photo Credits

Caitlin Johnston, Hannah Barrett, Dennis Webb, Ron Roessler, Woojin Lee

Torch:U.S. Staff

Editor

Woojin Lee

Advisor

Caitlin Johnston

Bene Factum!

The National Latin Exam is a 40 question test ranging over a variety of topics. Out of all students who take the exam, inside and outside the United States, there are students who accomplish an amazing feat of receiving a perfect score. We recognize these students on page 10.