Torch:U.S. LXV Spring 2016 - Page 2

Junior Classical League Directory

President Brier Anne Clough

president@njcl.org

First Vice President Michael Kearney

vp1@njcl.org

Second Vice President Hanna Seariac

vp2@njcl.org

Communications Coordinator Jon Nozik

commcoordinator@njcl.org

Parliamentarian Amanda Hansen

parliamentarian@njcl.org

Historian Hannah Barrett

historian@njcl.org

Editor Woojin Lee

editor@njcl.org

President Trace Turner

president@nscl.org

Vice President Kathryn Szymanski

vp@nscl.org

Secretary Maddie Briner

secretary@nscl.org

Treasurer Jon Gumz

treasurer@nscl.org

Parliamentarian Bob McDonald

parliamentarian@nscl.org

Editor Jack Godar

editor@nscl.org

Historian Sarah Christian

historian@nscl.org

Chair, Contests, Creative Arts Amy Elifrits

creativearts@njcl.org

Vice Chair, Contests, Graphic Arts Melissa Burgess

graphicarts@njcl.org

Secretary, Communications Dobbie Vasquez

communications@njcl.org

Contests, Olympika/SCL Tony Martin

olympika@njcl.org

Contests, Digital Tom Reed

digicon@njcl.org

Public Relations/Membership Catherine Sturgill

publicity@njcl.org

Contests, Certamen William Lee

certamen@njcl.org

Convention Advisor Sue Robertson

convention@njcl.org

Programs/Scholastic Services Sherry Jankowski

programs@njcl.org

Constitutional Advisor Dennis Webb

constitution@njcl.org

Contests, Academics David Jackson

academics@njcl.org

Publications Caitlin Johnston

publications@njcl.org

Administrator/Ex-Officio Sherwin Little

860 NW Washington Boulevard, Suite A Hamilton, OH 45013

(513) 529-7741 • fax (513) 529-7742 • administrator@njcl.org

National Committee 2015–2016

2

Spring 2016 · Torch: U.S.

Together at IU Again

It's not too long until we return to Indiana University in Bloomington. The theme for this year-- ubi concordia, ibi victoria-- describes successful conventions in the past. Once again, when we come together at national convention this summer, it will surely be a victorious time! Explore the beautiful campus of Indiana University in Bloomington during the week of convention, and learn why many people return every year. There are many activities to pick and choose from; there's something for everyone! Read on to learn what to expect at convention this summer.

Lights, Camera, Fashion!

Coco Chanel once said that fashion changes, but style endures. The Romans and Ancient Greeks had their own fashion. In modern day, people emulate the period with simple togas, but what else was part of a Roman or Ancient Greek's attire? Find out on page 12.

Torch:U.S. Policy

The Torch:U.S. is published four times yearly as the official magazine of the National Junior Classical League. Issues are published in fall, winter, spring, and summer. The ideas expressed in the Opinion section are the comments of the Torch:U.S. and its staff and should not necessarily be considered the policy of the National Junior Classical League, its officers, or the National Committee. Readers are encouraged to express their opinions on any subject relevant to the classics or JCL in the Voices Section. Your name and address or title must be included with your submission. All names will be published. Submissions may be sent to the editor or the advisor (see addresses to the left).

Photo Credits

Caitlin Johnston, Hannah Barrett, Dennis Webb, Woojin Lee

Torch:U.S. Staff

Editor

Woojin Lee

Advisor

Caitlin Johnston

NJCL Officers 2015–2016

NSCL Officers 2015–2016