The Yachtsman 2017-2018 RPAYC Yachtsman 2016-2017 - Page 70

N E S P R E S S O Y O U T H I N T E R N AT I O N A L RPAYC CLUB MEMBER MALCOLM PARKER 2017 NESPRESSO YOUTH INTERNATIONAL CHAMPION F or the first time since James Spithill won in 1999, the Nespresso Youth International Match Racing Cup belongs to the Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club. We started the day with semi-finals. Top placed from the round robin was Will Boulden who picked Will Eastman in the semi-finals. In the battle of the Will’s, Eastman (RPNYC) took the first match against Boulden (RFBYC) after winning the prestart. But Boulden took the following three matches to earn his place in the finals. The second set of trans-Tasman semi-finals saw Matt Hughes (RNZYS) competing against Malcolm Parker (RPAYC). Hughes had a good measure on Parker during the prestart but Parker adjusted to sailing in the strong current flowing under the race track. He was then able to sail with superior boat speed, especially upwind, which helped him to quickly regain control and win the semi- final 3-0. It was an all Australian final between Will Boulden (RFBYC) and Malcolm Parker (RPAYC). Boulden had previously versed Parker in the finals of the Harken Youth Match Racing Regatta in November, with Boulden pipping Parker at the post in the final race to beat him on his home turf. With the loss too fresh in Parker’s memory, Parker knew he would have to sail a mistake free final. Will Boulden took the first race with Parker getting himself in tangles off the start line. For the next three races Parker managed to get himself off the line with clear air and from there his crew went to work, hiking as hard as they possibly could in the heavy wind conditions. The hard work and pain that Parker and his crew endured on the long upwind legs paid off, with Boulden unable to match the Alfred’s team speed. “He definitely had his skates on in those final two races,” said Boulden at prize giving. Malcolm Parker and his team of Evelyn Foster, Harley Walters, Nick Andersen and Harry Hall took the finals win 3-1 to finally end the long drought since 1999 when James Spithill, David Stephens and Paul Montague held the Trophy last. The 2017 champion Parker, thanked his competitors and crew for the close regatta. “It was a tough final day. Thanks to all my crew for getting me out of a few tricky situations,” said Parker. Also representing the RPAYC was the all-female team led by Malcolm’s younger sister Sarah, who after missing the quarter finals by one win, finished up in 10th position. 68 YACHTSMAN Sailing with Sarah was Clare Costanzo, Pia Doyle, Jess Angus and Juliet Costanzo. The RPAYC would like to thank the RNZYS and the volunteers involved for running such as great event.