The Yachtsman 2017-2018 RPAYC Yachtsman 2016-2017 - Page 39

PLACE YACHT OWNER 1st Australia Katie Spithill, Alessandra Angelini, Jessica Eastwell, Kate Lathouras and Stacey Jackson 2nd UK Lucy Macgregor and Team 3rd France Lucy Macgregor 4th Sweden Anna Ostling 5th Denmark Trine Palludan 6th USA Stephanie Roble 7th France Pauline Courtois 8th Sweden Caroline Sylvan 9th Netherlands Renee Groeneveld 10th Ireland Diana Jane Kissane 11th Australia Milly Bennett, Alice Tarnawski, Rosie Lee, Stephanie Doyle, Carrington Brady and Tara Blanc-Ramos 12th Japan Gyeong Jin Lee WHISPER MUG T he Whisper Mug has been a tradition in Pittwater since 1972 when the first race was organised by Sue and Neville Fielding in their yacht Whisper. Since then the race has prospered with fleets of up to 20 and a reputation for a highly enjoyable day out on the water and a social party afterwards. AUSTRALIAN WOMEN’S MATCH RACING FINAL RESULTS The breeze at this time of year is normally excellent, and the race has only ever been shortened once in its 40 year history! In a similar vein to twilights and the popular Portuguese Picnic this is a fun race with most crews consisting of family and friends. The major difference is that the course is long enough for a decent sail and spinnakers are permitted. THERE ARE TWO DIVISIONS • A division for those owners who wish to sail the traditional rounding of Dangar Island and home. • A division for members to enjoy a more leisurely sail to Juno Point and return. CONGRATULATIONS TO OUR WINNERS FOR 2016 • Zebulon Plate (Line honours winner) Easy Tiger III - Tom Spithill • Whisper Mug - Rojack - Andrew Glover • The Josie Trophy - Scoot - Scott Robertson/Mike Robertson • The Starter’s Cup - Venue - Brian Ellis YAC H T SMA N 37