The Yachtsman 2017-2018 RPAYC Yachtsman 2016-2017 - Page 37

JUBILEE A 2017 JUBILEE HUNTINGFIELD CUP fter three days of solid racing on Pittwater, Charles Weatherly and his team in Scorpion from the Ballarat Yacht Club have won the 2017 Jubilee Huntingfield Cup which now makes it Weatherly’s fourth Cup title. Pittwater turned it on for the 15 Jubilees and they looked right at home racing in the “big pond” over the Series. The Jubilees were RPAYC’s foundation class from the 1930s and this event was a great display of vintage racing with strong traditions continuing into today and the future. On day one of racing a stiff southerly funnelled through Pittwater which presented a good race track for the competitors. Mark Griffith’s Freelance and David Bray’s Wataworrie finished the day on equal 1st with Stephen Wright’s Renaissance in 3rd. Day two presented a little more of a challenge with lighter winds welcoming the competitors. After a small delay the sea breeze eventually picked up to start the day’s racing. Day two saw a boat v boat pattern between Scorpion and Renaissance with Scorpion winning race four then Renaissance winning the Races 5 and 6. Day three, the last day of racing presented a similar day to day two but with a stronger sea breeze with a little more north in it. Peaking at around 15 to 20 knots, competitors were treated to a glamour day on Pittwater with plenty of breeze and minimal boat traffic, being a Monday. Again, Scorpion and Renaissance play winners tag with Scorpion winning race seven then Renaissance Race 8 then Scorpion to win the ninth and final race. RPAYC sailors David Bray and Mark Griffith had a similar little battle for third place in the final day with David Bray’s Wattaworrie coming out on top for third place with Mark Griffith’s Freelance coming in fourth. A special mention to Freelance which on board with Mark was David Taylor, Rear Commodore Centreboard and his daughter, RPAYC Opti sailor Bailey Taylor who would have been one of the youngest of the fleet sailing in a class which started racing during King George V’s Rule. The Jubilee Huntingfield cup is shared with Victoria with RPAYC hosting it every second year. The Jubilees will return to Pittwater in 2019. YAC H T SMA N 35