The Yachtsman 2017-2018 RPAYC Yachtsman 2016-2017 - Page 34

D AV I D L U K I N S R E G AT TA COACH VS COACH IN THE FINAL OF THE DAVID LUKINS MEMORIAL REGATTA T he David Lukins regatta was run over the weekend of the 10 and 11 September 2016. This was the seventh running of the event since its inception in 2009 to commemorate the memory of David Lukins, a much valued member, volunteer and mate. This regatta has a strong connection with the Club’s Youth Development (YD) program, as David volunteered countless hours helping shape the lives of some of those champions mentioned above. This event has attracted some of RPAYC’s best sailors, battling to get their name on the beautiful David Lukins Memorial trophy. Just looking at the names on the trophy of previous winning skippers and crew, you get an appreciation of the calibre of the event as you identify Olympic and World Champions. At a quick glance there are: 4 x Silver Medallists 2 x Women’s Match Racing World Champions 2 x Youth Match Racing World Champions 1 x Moth World Champion There are many further accolades and achievements for past winning skippers and crew, so much so, it would require several more pages to try and detail! This year saw 10 teams compete for the coveted title. Five skippers out of the 10 teams were past graduates of the Youth Development Squad, some ranging back Place Team 32 to the early 90’s. The other teams competing were the current Youth Development Squad, and for the first time this year, one team skippered by Nick Andersen represented the Club’s Intermediate Youth Development (IYD) Program. For the finals it was a case of Coach v Coach, with both Murray Gordon and Tom Spithill, coaches of the Youth Development program (as well as past graduates), fighting it out for the win with Tom Spithill and his team emerging the victors after a very good battle. The teams all assembled back at the Alfred’s for the prize giving, where David’s Parents, Warwick and Marg, as well as David’s son Shane (who sailed with Gordon) with his wife and kids, all attending. A clearly elated and cleanly shaved Spithill was quick to praise his crew in his winning speech. “This has been some of the most enjoyable sailing I have done. This win, personally, means a great deal to both Angela and myself. Dave was a huge influence in our lives, both on and off the water, and to now have our names on a trophy in David’s name is one of the greatest honours.” “This regatta has a way of bringing mates back together, and I am not just talking competitors. All the volunteers, such as the race committee, mark boat and umpires, all roles that David loved doing… you guys are responsible for this win as well!” Said a moved Spithill. Helm Crew 1 Crew 2 Crew 3 Tom Spithill Mark Dorling James Whelan Ang Farrell Crew 4 1st Easy Tiger Racing 2nd “Do it for Roughley” Murray Gordon Tim Lake Shane Lukins Hamish Roughley 3rd Tangles Nick Garland Grant Pellew Julian Plante Stacey Jackson 4th YD M Parker Malcolm Parker Harry Hall Clare Costanzo Harley Walters 5th YD S Parker Sarah Parker Jess Angus Evelyn Foster Rachel Bower 6th YD May Emma May William Dargaville Liam Bennett Juliet Costanzo 7th Cunning Stunts Zac Seymour Steve McConaghy Tom McConaghy Daniel Corlett 8th Banshee Ian McKillop James Major Lærke Marie Sorensen Rob Hudson Evan Gauci 9th YD Farquharson James Farquharson Josh Dawson Pia Doyle Niall Powers Nathan Weiss 10th IYD Andersen Nick Andersen Jarrah Shepard Grace Powers Callum Hindhaugh Cam Whiteside YACHTSMAN