The Yachtsman 2017-2018 RPAYC Yachtsman 2016-2017 - Page 26

WOMEN’S TWILIGHTS 2016 / 2017 T raditionally called the Ladies Twilights, we agreed to rename the series the Women’s Twilights in our 22nd year. It has taken a bit of getting used to but the new name is here to stay. This season, we were very proudly supported by Tina Ernfridsson, an independent Arbonne consultant, who so generously donated the weekly 1st prizes in each division. Tina has very kindly offered to support the Series in 2017/18, for which we are very grateful. Consistent with last season, we had 13 boats regularly competing every second Tuesday from October to March. We had some great weather conditions throughout the season, with only a couple of races marred by lack of wind or rain. It was great to see so many regular skippers and crews racing again, but even better that some new entrants participated in the series, being: • Nancy Ferguson racing with her crew on Whisper 30; • Heather Ritchie skippering Summersault; • Jennie Fogarty heading up the team on Ruby; • Milly Bennett at the helm of Easy Tiger III early in the season; and • Karen Bryant and crew facing the challenges on The Best. Well done to all of our new entrants. It is so great to see more women taking to the helm in racing, and I hope we’ll see you on the water again this coming season. With the introduction of ORCc1 handicapping, we ran two sets of results for the boats which were rated. They were reasonably consistent with the PHS results. Congratulations on the following results: PHS: DIVISION 1 1st Dark Star, skippered by Lyndall Bacon 2nd Summersault, skippered by Heather Ritchie 3rd Belicymo, skippered by Alex Murray DIVISION 2 1st Pegasus, skippered by Mary Bickley 2nd Kalanoa II, skippered by Tammy Lindsay 3rd Haupia, skippered by Liz de Soyres In both divisions, 2nd and 3rd places were determined on a count back, so it was very close racing. 24 YACHTSMAN ORCc I: DIVISION 1 1st Summersault, skippered by Heather Ritchie 2nd Pretty Woman, skippered by Annie Taylor DIVISION 2 1st Haupia, skippered by Liz de Soyres 2nd Venue, skippered by Sarah Tallis 3rd Ruby, skippered by Jennie Fogarty A special thanks to our team of volunteer race officials: David West, Debbie Holder, Ron Palmer, Trevor Hannah, Rob McClelland, Bobbie Simpson, Jim Gordon and Tina Ernfridsson. You managed our races extremely professionally and without incident – we all really appreciate the time and effort you devote to the series. Thank you also to Iain Murray, Racing Director for the America’s Cup 2017, and crew member of Belicymo, who spoke to us after the last race about the then upcoming America’s Cup series. It was a fascinatin g presentation and thoroughly enjoyed by all in attendance. Thank you very much to the following people for making the series such a success – without you there would be no Women’s Twilights: • the Club’s Sailing Office, and in particular Katie Pellew, for managing the series;