The Yachtsman 2017-2018 RPAYC Yachtsman 2016-2017 - Page 23

A AMAZING RACING nother exciting season for Fleet 2 with a total of 12 series contested over the year, and some amazing racing. Throughout Wednesday to Saturday and Twilight Racing we have seen participation up across the board and welcomed a whole gamut of new boats and crews. This included new crews on new boats, some experienced campaigners with new boats, as well as welcoming back boats we haven’t seen for a while with new faces at the tiller. Firefly, Summersault, Gezzabelle, Rum Runner, Bullwinkle and Solutions all added colour and excitement to the racing which consistently saw fleet sizes of 15 boats or more. ORC. Allen and Gezzabelle were subsequently rewarded for their outstanding season with the Alan Rich Trophy for the best performing Club yacht. Thank you to all the volunteers that made our racing possible and congratulations to all of the competitors that got out on the start line and contributed to the friendly and competitive racing on beautiful Pittwater. In particular, congratulations go to the following skippers and teams for their victories in Fleet 2. FLEET 2 MARCUS GRIMES The close racing was reflected at the presentation with 10 different series winners and a massive 22 different crews attaining a podium position! In amongst the results we saw some outstanding performances, including Ola taking seven podiums including four wins on the way to the Wednesday Spring Point score Series. But the stand out performer of the year was Allen Stormon and his crew on their new boat Gezzabelle. Gezzabelle was the only boat to win more than one series in Fleet 2 on their way to three series victories on PHS and two more in YACHT OWNER SERIES Scoot Scott Robertson/ Mike Robertson Broken Bay Offshore Pointscore Series - Fleet 2 Pacesetter Tony Doyle Early Bird Series - Fleet 2 Al Fresco Dave Griffin Lion Island Pointscore Series - Fleet 2 Gezzabelle Allen Stormon Commodores Cup Series - Fleet 2 Firefly Ian Edwards Twilight Spring Pointscore Series - Fleet 2 Tailwind Shaw Russett Twilight Summer Pointscore Series - Fleet 2 Ola David Warren Wednesday Spring Pointscore Series - Fleet 2 Starlight Julien Noakes Wednesday Summer Pointscore Series - Fleet 2 Summersault Greg O'Neill Winter Pointscore Series - Fleet 2 Gezzabelle Allen Stormon Pittwater Inshore Pointscore Series - Fleet 2 Gezzabelle Allen Stormon Waterford Pointscore Series - Fleet 2 Back in Business Paul Dickson Wednesday Autumn Pointscore Series - Fleet 2 YAC H T SMA N 21