The Yachtsman 2017-2018 RPAYC Yachtsman 2016-2017 - Page 19

REAR COMMODORE OF CENTREBOARD REPORT P articipation in the Club’s Centreboard Division has expanded once again throughout the 2016/2017 season. Regularly racing each Sunday afternoon the following participation has been recorded in the Centreboard Classes: Optimists (37), Lasers (39), 29ers (5), Weta (1) and Finns (3). RPAYC were also very strongly represented at regattas, predominantly their respective National Titles and World titles. RPAYC were often the most represented Club in participation at the Optimist regattas. At the National titles in Adelaide, RPAYC were runner up to one of the local Clubs and at the State Titles RPAYC won the Beashel Trophy for Club participation. The highlight of the year was certainly Natasha Bryant and Annie Wilmot for winning the Youth World Championship in the 29er Class. All their hard work in training and time on water has paid off. Tash and Annie have now moved into the 49er FX class and have commenced their campaign towards the Tokyo 2020 Olympics. The Centreboard Committee wishes them the best of luck. Martin Cross competed in the World Master Games held in Auckland New Zealand in April 2017 and came away with a Gold Medal in the Weta Trimaran fleet. Fletcher Walters competed in the Optimist World Championship in Pattaya, Thailand where only the top five competitors from each country may compete. Fletch qualified for the Gold Fleet and finished a very respectable 36th overall out of the 281 competitors. In the National events all held in Adelaide, the following Club sailors featured in their respective classes: • Fletcher Walters placed 3rd in Optimist Open Fleet and has qualified for the Worlds Team in Thailand July 2017. • Daniel Links placed 10th in Optimist Open Fleet. • Tash and Annie 3rd in 29er and re-qualified for the Youth Worlds later this year. • Zac Barnabas and Jesse Dransfield 7th in 29er Youth Nationals. • Nathan Bryant 9th in Laser 4.7 Nationals and 6th in Laser 4.7 Youth Nationals. In the Optimist NSW State Titles held at South Lake Macquarie Amateur Sailing Club on Lake Macquarie, RPAYC were the most represented Club and also won the Beashel Perpetual Trophy for the highest placed sa