The Yachtsman 2017-2018 RPAYC Yachtsman 2016-2017 - Page 108

VA L E SHARON O’HARA – VALUED STAFF MEMBER S haz as she was known, worked at the RPAYC for 15 years in a number of roles, including accounts, administration and membership. The majority of her tenure was as the Executive Assistant to the General Manager and in this capacity she provided support not only to the GM, but to all managers and staff and to RPA’s elected officers. Her knowledge of the Clubs industry and specifically RPAYC coupled with her dedication, candour and high standards meant she was a valued employee who made a great contribution to the Club. She trained and supported many of us and I am sure that, like me, those who she helped along the way will appreciate how freely she gave her knowledge. 50 YEAR MEMBERS Kenneth Beashel Robert Clisdell Kenneth Davidson Ian Fergusson Brian Gray Philip Kinsella Frederick Lind Grahame Maclean Marillyn Morris Bryan Neilson Roger Prior Kevin Weldon As a long serving staff member, Shaz was very well known by our members and during her final years of service she assumed the part time membership co-ordinator role welcoming many new members to the Club. Shaz was first diagnosed with her illness in October 2011 and in her typically strong and determined way, she fought as best she could and finally lost her battle in February 2017. Sharon will be missed and remembered forever! DECEASED MEMBERS Alec Burton Thomas Campbell A J de Montfort Lyn Fergusson Anthony (Tony) Fox John Grout John Gunn Ronald Hayden Fran Hudson John Mostyn William O’Donoghue Geoffrey Peacock John Slade Antony Slater John Gale Frank Newman John Violet Russell Vasey Mervyn Wetton Michael Wyer 106 YACHTSMAN