the torch Spring 2015, Issue 1 - Page 24

MedEd Profile SHEFALI PAPPU Shefali Pappu is a fourth-year medical student at Texas A&M Health Science Center College of Medicine (TAMHSC) and is currently completing a rotation at Baylor University Medical Center at Dallas. In addition to her studies, Shefali serves in a leadership position as chief executive officer of the Dallas campus. In this role she serves as a liaison between faculty and students on the Dallas campus. With plans to pursue her residency in obstetrics and gynecology, Shefali is anxiously and excitedly awaiting Match Day, when she will find out where the next four years of her life and training will be spent. Arriving in the United States from India at the age of two, Shefali lived in various states growing up, but SHEFALI calls Texas home. “While English is not my first language, most people would be convinced otherwise by my Southern drawl,” said Shefali. “I feel like a true Texas girl. My heart belongs to College Station, Texas – I’ve lived there for more than 15 years now.” Before joining TAMHSC, Shefali earned her bachelor’s degree in anthropology at Washington University in St. Louis and her master’s degree in biological sciences at The University of North Texas Health Science Center. “My undergraduate studies in anthropology gave me the opportunity to learn about new cultures, beliefs and practices,” said Shefali. “I firmly believe it has made me a better, more compassionate medical student, and my hope is that this translates to the type of physician I will be in the future.” What brought you to Baylor? I wanted to have an extremely enriching clinical experience and Baylor was the perfect 24 opportunity for that. The prestige surrounding this hospital and the amazing faculty and physicians associated with it made it the ideal choice for my formative clinical years. During the two years I have been here, I have been fortunate to work with some incredible physicians. My clinical experience with the obstetrics and gynecology physicians, specifically, solidified my dreams of going into this field. I will forever be thankful to Baylor for providing me with this training and these opportunities. What are your hobbies or interests? I love spending time outdoors, preferably by a body of water. If I could live on the lake and be out on a boat for the rest of my life, I probably would. Arts and crafts are also PAPPU a huge passion of mine. I love to paint and try new D.I.Y. projects whenever I can. I would also say that I live to eat – trying new foods, new restaurants and new recipes at home is something I love! Describe your family. My family is small (I am an only child) and incredibly close. We are like the three musketeers, and I wouldn’t have it any other way. Who are your heroes? My parents are my heroes. They moved our family to the United States from India when I was less than 2 years old in order to pursue a better life. They put themselves through school while taking care of a small child. I saw, firsthand, what dedication and hard work really meant, and what true sacrifice was. They never let anything stand in the way of my dreams and provided me with unconditional love and support. I will always be thankful for them and hope to grow up and be just as inspirational.