The Locksmith Journal May/Jun 2018 - Issue 56 - Page 3

3 MAY/JUN 2018 ISSUE 56 Contents 30 THE A-Z OF LOCKEX Four pages and 26 reasons on why you should attend Lockex 2018 – Security & Fire Safety, alphabetised for your convenience (and that was the short version). 40 AS SEEN ON TV Locksmith Jason Tyler (who you may recognise from C4’s SAS Who Dares Wins) reflects on how 25 years in the military led to his own battle with mental illness. 30 52 IN GOOD HANDS Yale’s 18-step guide to fitting the Conexis L1 Smart Door Lock, the keyless system you can control anywhere from the palm of your hand. 56 175 YEARS IN THE MAKING After learning how to fit the Conexis L1, read all about the 175-year journey that Yale has taken to become one of the most well-known and respected names in security. 40 52 56 66 AT THE APEX OF INSTALLATION A three-page special, by Apecs Ltd, on the variety of hinges available, which to use and when, plus a step-by-step guide to fitting a butt hinge. 86 ARE YOU SMART ENOUGH? Home security specialist ERA says “it’s time for traditional locksmiths to embrace this new wave of security products.” 66 86 56 HISTORY & HERITAGE • 61 DOOR CLOSERS & HINGES • 72 HARDWARE & SECURITY • 82 SECURITY SYSTEMS Editor Gemma Emmerson gemma@cvgroup.co.uk 01226 321 450 Sales Director Rob Exley rob@cvgroup.co.uk 01226 321 450 Sales Manager Andrew Davies andy@cvgroup.co.uk 01226 321 450 Subscriptions Lisa Taylor lisa@cvgroup.co.uk 01226 449 341 Press Releases PR Enquiries pr@cvgroup.co.uk 01226 321 450 Director Steve Sidebottom steve@cvgroup.co.uk Finance Director Ryan Exley ryan@cvgroup.co.uk Production Tom Cartledge tom@cvgroup.co.uk Administration Joann Crossley joann@cvgroup.co.uk Fax Your Enquiry 01226 730 825 Director Ian Wilkinson ian@cvgroup.co.uk Accounts Enquiries Sharon Watson sharon@cvgroup.co.uk Production Assistant Charlotte Armstrong charlotte@cvgroup.co.uk Administration Emma Goodinson emma@cvgroup.co.uk All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronically or mechanically without the consent of Clearview Group Ltd and any of its subsidiaries. Whilst every effort is made to ensure accuracy, this publication does not accept liability for errors, printing or otherwise appearing in this publication. The views expressed by contributors are not necessarily those of the editor or publisher. LOCKSMITHJOURNAL.CO.UK Sponsored by Insafe | Loksafe.co.uk | Insafe.com Head Office Unit 2 - 3 Burleigh Court, Burleigh Street, Barnsley, S70 1XY FOLLOW US ON TWITTER