The IMC Magazine Issue 14/April 2016 - Page 17



Unmanned Aerial Vinyl is pleased to announce the release of Died a Patriot & The North Fall, the new double a-side single from London based indie rock band Victory Kicks, taken from their superb second album High Wires. The single will be released on September 7th 2015.

Both songs are currently being featured on indie radio stations and podcasts across the world and have been released as free downloads from the band’s website. Died a Patriot is underscored by driving, clanging percussion and hangs on a punchy, repeating guitar riff whilst distant synths swirl in the background and a catchy, breezy vocal carries the tune. This three and a half minute slice of synth-pop is accompanied by a mellower track, The North Fall, a melodic and stripped down ballad that evokes the decline of a relationship.

Both songs are taken from High Wires, the fifth record to be released by the band since it formed in 2013. It is the band’s second full length effort, the follow-up to their acclaimed full length debut The Decibel Age. Whilst retaining a focus on melody and riffy guitar work, the new album sees the band take a more stripped down approach with less reliance on the ambient noise and sonic textures that marked their previous effort.

In many ways the record sees the band revisit the straight forward melodic power pop styling of their debut EP Rockets for Ghosts, but whilst the sound of the record is reminiscent of that earlier work, singer and songwriter John Sibley’s writing has continued to evolve. High Wires comprises ten short, sharp pop songs (the album clocks in at under 30 minutes) which are, as you would expect from Victory Kicks, loaded with arresting riffs and melodic hooks. High Wires was released in July and is available from iTunes, Amazon and all major retailers. It is also available to stream and download

New Single: Died a Patriot // The North Fall