The Docket April 2020 - Page 2

The Docket is a publication of the Sarasota County Bar Association. All articles printed herein are the property of the Sarasota County Bar Association and may not be reprinted without permission. PUBLISHER: SCBA Executive Director Holly Lipps EDITORS: Mallory Moretti, Esq. and Pamela Hernandez, Esq., Ernst & Young LLP DESIGN AND EDITORIAL CONSULTATION: Peter M. Gentile, petermichael associates The Docket encourages submissions of interest to SCBA members. Contact the SCBA office via e-mail (scba@sarasotabar.com) or phone (861-8180) for further information. The Docket is published 10 months a year. Deadline is the first Friday of the month preceding the month of publication. Sarasota County Bar Association Board of Directors 2019–2020 n W. Andrew Clayton, Jr., President Icard Merrill dclayton@icardmerrill.com n Adria Jensen, Director Shumaker ajensen@slk-law.com n Jennifer L. Grosso, President-Elect Bentley & Bruning, P.A. jgrosso@bentleyandbruning.com n Dana B. Keane, Director Keane & Keane dbk@keaneandkeane.com n Mark A. Haskins, Treasurer/Secretary Mark A. Haskins, P.A. mark@markhaskinspa.com n Amanda R. Kison, Director Bentley & Bruning, P.A. akison@bentleyandbruning.com n Nancy E. Cason, Immediate Past President Syprett Meshad ncason@smrl.com n Bonnie L. Polk, Director Williams Parker bpolk@williamsparker.com n Jeanne M. Bennett, Director O’Brien & Bennett, P.A. jeanne@obrienbennett.com n Neil T. Lyons, Director Luhrsen Goldberg ntl@lginjuryfirm.com n Stacy Dillard-Spahn, Director Law Office of Robert L. Lincoln Stacy.dillard@flalandlaw.com n B  rian D. Goodrich, YLD President Bentley & Bruning P.A. bgoodrich@bentleyandbruning.com n Edwin L. Ford, Director Edwin L. Ford, P.A. edford@edwinford.com n Bryan S. Kessler, SCD President Berg & Kessler bryan@bergkessler.com n Jason Gaskill, Director Inverso Law Grou jason@inversolaw.com n Holly Lipps, Executive Director HLipps@jud12.flcourts.org C an the law firm you refer your P ersonal i njury Cases to answer yes to these 10 questions ? 1. Does the attorney try cases several times each year? 2. Does the attorney have the ability to show you recent trial results? 3. Does the attorney have over 20 years of experience working for the insurance companies so that they have gained an insight into how to oppose and/or sue the insurance companies? 4. Is the attorney Board Certified in Civil Trial Law? 5. Is the attorney AV rated by Martindale Hubbell? 6. Does the attorney have the financial strength to take on significant injury cases? 7. Is the attorney located in the 12th judicial circuit? 8. Will the attorney pay you a referral fee in accordance with the rules regulating the Florida Bar on every case no matter how big or small?* 9. Is the attorney available to speak with you at any point during the referral to give you status updates as you request? 10. Is the attorney willing to take on challenging cases that other law firms or attorneys may not be willing to handle or would turn down due to the amount of work involved? r efer your Cases to the m allard l aw f irm , beCause our answer to these 10 questions is yes. d amian m allard , e sq . Mallard Law Firm, P.A. 889 North Washington Blvd. Sarasota, Florida 34236 (P) 941-952-1682 www.MallardLawFirm.com *Rules regulating the Florida Bar permit a 25% referral fee without any involvement of the referral attorney other than making the introduction to the client. Any additional fees require court approval and involvement of the referring attorney in the handling of the personal injury matter.