Tweet us your Rules Questions @CSGALinks #WhatsTheRuling 2 3 What’s the Ruling? In this edition of “What’s the Ruling?”, we look at a fairly common situation with regards to hazard stakes. In the picture to the right, this lateral hazard is marked with 3 stakes and no line. The dotted line seen in the picture is where the margin of the hazard should be, had it been properly marked. Obviously, there should be a stake on the left margin of the hazard. However, with only 3 stakes, the margin of the hazard goes from stakes 1->2->3 and appears to exclude the rocky ground to the left of the line. 1 Q: Stakes deﬁning the margin of a water hazard were improperly installed. As a result, an area which clearly was part of the water hazard was outside the stakes and, thus, technically was outside the hazard. A player’s ball came to rest in water in this area. The player claimed that, in view of the alignment of the stakes, his ball was in casual water through the green. So...what’s the ruling? deﬁning the margin of the hazard as required by Rule 33-2a, the player is not entitled to take advantage of such an error. Since it was clear that the place where the player’s ball lay was within the natural boundaries of the water hazard, the claim should not be upheld and the player’s ball lies in the hazard. Answer: Although the committee erred in not properly By the Book: Deﬁnition of a “Water Hazard” A “water hazard” is any sea, lake, pond, river, ditch, surface drainage ditch or other open water course (whether or not containing water) and anything of a similar nature on the course. All ground and water with the margin of the water hazard are part of the water hazard. When the margin of a water hazard is deﬁned by stakes, the stakes are inside the water hazard and the margin of the hazard is deﬁned by the nearest outside points of the stakes at ground level. When both stakes and lines are used to indicate a water hazard, the stakes identify the type of hazard and the lines deﬁne the hazard margin.