The Atlanta Lawyer June/July 2017 - Page 2

Chairs Hon. Diane E. Bessen Lisa K. Liang Advisors Margaret H. Vath James D. Blitch IV Student Liaisons Honey L. Shaw Editorial Board The Atlanta Lawyer (ISSN-04038428/UPS-018068) is published by the Atlanta Bar Association, 400 Enjoliqué Aytch Ben Byrd Richard Caplan J. Wickliffe Cauthorn Janet Fashinasi Megan Hodgkiss Michael Jablonski Hamida Jackson-Little Rachel L. Platt Erik J. Provitt Jacquelyn H. Saylor Dawn Smith Ian E. Smith International Tower, 229 Peachtree Street NE, Atlanta GA 30303-1601. The Editorial Board of The Atlanta Lawyer will consider all articles and letters submitted for publication, however it reserves the right to reject articles and letters submitted. Articles are judged on importance of topic, clarity, and timeliness. The Editorial Board gives priority to articles promoting the activities of the Association and its members. The Board reserves the right to edit or rewrite an article as a condition of publication. Articles may be submitted by email to Publications and Communications at jgray@ The Atlanta Lawyer reserves On the cover: 2016-2017 Atlanta Bar Association President James D. Blitch IV passing the gavel to 2017-2018 Atlanta Bar Association President Margaret H. Vath. Atlanta Bar Association President Margaret H. Vath Georgia State University College of Law Vice President/ President-Elect Nicole G. Iannarone Georgia State University College of Law Secretary ACYL President C. Joseph Hoffman Kitchens Kelley Gaynes, P.C. Members at Large M. Gino Brogdon, Jr. Brogdon Champion, LLC Caren Cloud Truancy Intervention Project Georgia Ryan K. Walsh Jones Day Joan C. Grafstein JAMS Treasurer Robert Lewis, Jr. U.S. Department of Labor A. Craig Cleland Ogletree, Deakins, Nash, Smoak & Stewart P.C. Immediate Past President James D. Blitch IV Blitch Law PC Jonathan E. Hawkins Krevolin & Horst LLC Stephen T. LaBriola Fellows LaBriola LLP the right to edit for style, length, and continuity. The Atlanta Lawyer is published electronically. Lisa K. Liang Hon. Susan E. Edlein, State Court of Fulton County Christopher P. Lightner Alston & Bird LLP J. Mathew Maguire Parks, Chesin & Walbert, PC Melissa Redmon Fulton County District Attorney's Office Shawn Shepard Smith & Carson, Inc. Ashley Wilson Shingler Lewis LLC Jessica J. Wood Bodker, Ramsey, Andrews, Winograd & Wildstein, PC ABA Delegate Rita A. Sheffey Emory University School of Law Legal Counsel Marc A. Rawls Sutherland LLP Atlanta Bar Foundation President Michael B. Terry Bondurant, Mixson & Elmore, LLP Gate City Bar Association President Shawntel Hebert