The Atlanta Lawyer August/September 2019 - Page 31

SECTION UPDATES BANKRUPTCY L-R: Bankruptcy Immediate Past Chair Vania Allen (United States Bankruptcy Court, N.D. Georgia), Vice Chair/Chair-Elect Bruce Walker (Cohen Pollock Merlin Turner PC), Secretary Greg Taube (Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough LLP), and Member at Large Aimee Pickett Sanders (Alston & Bird LLP). On June 25, 2019, the Bankruptcy Section hosted a Summer Associate Day at the U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Northern District of Georgia. The event was very well attended with over 30 summer associates from local law firms participating. The summer associates were provided with the opportunity to observe an argument before the Honorable Jeffrey W. Cavender and hear remarks from the Honorable Paul W. Bonapfel, the Honorable Jeffrey W. Cavender, the Honorable Lisa Ritchey Craig, and the Honorable Sage M. Sigler. The summer associates were also invited to tour the participating ju d g e s’ c h amb e r s an d c ou r t ro om s . The Summer Associate Day at the Bankruptcy Court was followed by a Summer Social at No Mas Cantina. The Summer Social was also attended by over 30 section members, including a number of bankruptcy judges. During the Summer Social, summer associates were able to meet with experienced practitioners and learn more about the Atlanta bankruptcy bar over light appetizers and cocktails. Section Breakfast Registration is now open for the next Bankruptcy Section Breakfast, which will take place on Thursday, September 26, 2019, from 7:30 a.m. to 9:00 a.m. The event will be held at the offices of Arnall Golden Gregory LLP. The breakfast will include a presentation on The Automatic Stay and the Discharge Injunction following Taggart v. Lorenzen. Matt Berry (Berry & Associates), and Vanessa Leo, (Shapiro Pendergast & Hasty LLP), will present; the panel will be moderated by Alexandra "CC" Schnapp (U.S Bankruptcy Court, Law Clerk to Chief Bankruptcy Judge Wendy L. Hagenau). We hope you will join us. Save the Date Please save the date for our Fall Social on October 17, 2019! The annual gathering will be held at Sweetwater Brewing. Mark your calendar to enjoy beer and B B Q at At l ant a’s f avor it e bre we r y. Board of Directors The Officers and Board members for the 2019-2020 year are: Chair Melissa J. Davey (Standing Chapter 13 Trustee), Vice-Chair/ Chair-Elect Bruce Walker (Cohen Pollock Merlin Turner PC), Secretary Gregory Taube (Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough LLP), Treasurer Doroteya Wozniak (James Bates Brannan Groover LLP), Immediate Past Chair Vania Allen (US Bankruptcy Court Northern District of Georgia), and Members At Large Michael Bargar (Arnall Golden Gregory LLP), Ashley Champion (U.S. Bankruptcy Court, Law Clerk), Alaina C. Joseph (King & King Law, LLC), Taylor Mansell (LOGS Network), Gai Lynn McCarthy (KPPB Law), Aimee Pickett Sanders (Alston & Bird LLP), and Alexandra “CC” Schnapp ( Un ite d St ate s B an k r uptc y C ou r t ) . ALEXANDRA CC SCHNAPP U.S. Bankruptcy Court DOROTEYA N. WOZNIAK James Bates Brannan Groover LLP THE ATLANTA LAWYER 31