Samples 2016 Le Mans Special Edition - Page 14

RACE REPORT The LMP2 honours went to the #36 Signatech Alpine of Nicolas Lapierre, Stephane Richelmi and Gustavo Mendez. It was Lapierre’s second LMP2 win at Le Mans in a row after securing victory with KCMG in 2015. The French team finished two minutes forty seconds ahead of the #26 G Drive Racing Oreca of Rene Rast, Roman Rusinov and Will Stevens. The #37 SMP Racing BR01 of Vitaly Petrov, Kirill Ladygin and Victor Shaitar took the final class podium place ensuring a 1-2-3 for FIA WEC competitors. In LMGTE Pro it was the opposite case as the podium places were filled by US teams, with Ford securing a historic victory on their return to the 24 Hours of Le Mans, 50 years after their 1-2-3 podium lockout in the 1966 race. The victory went to the #68 Ford Chip Ganassi Team USA of Dirk Muller, Joey Hand and Sebastien Bourdais. The top WEC competitor was the #66 Ford Chip Ganassi Team UK Ford GT of Olivier Pla, Stefan Mucke and Billy Johnson, which finished 4th in class but collects the 50 world championship points. The #95 (Turner-Thiim-Sørensen) and #97 (Stanaway-Rees-Adam) Aston Martin Racing Vantage V8s were 5th and 6th in class and will collect 36 and 30 championship points respectively.