Rock & Metal World - Page 32

Metallic Nostalgia


Rust in Peace (1990)

Track listing:

1. Holy Wars... The Punishment Due

2. Hangar 18

3. Take No Prisoners

4. Five Magics

5. Poison Was the Cure

6. Lucretia

7. Tornado of Souls

8. Dawn Patrol

9. Rust in Peace... Polaris

This year marks the 20th anniversary of this album, which is considered for many as Megadeth’s best album and one of the best in the history of Heavy Metal.

On this album Megadeth took Thrash Metal to a higher level, the more progressive and melodic sound gave them poise, sobriety and technique without sacrificing power and forcefulness. It was also the first album of the classic lineup consisting of Dave Mustaine, Marty Friedman, Dave Ellefson and Nick Menza, a quartet that was able to edit unforgettable albums that have become classics in Megadeth’s discography.

The album starts in a runaway with the spectacular "Holy Wars", song that indicates what the disc will be later, a symphony of riffs and solos equipped with all the technique and virtuosity that Marty Friedman possesses, and complements with Mustaine who is not far behind, sparking real dueling guitars of the highest quality, always accompanied by a strong rhythmic foundation of bass and drums in the hands of Ellefson and Menza.

The album is almost perfect, it’s not repetitive, each track is unique and has its own absolute identity. There are speed, melody and complexity without reaching density, fitting all the atmosphere created for the disc, where these musicians are free to develop their full potential to create songs that have become indispensable as "Hangar 18", "Take No Prisoners", "Tornado of Souls ", "Holy Wars" or "Five Magics" and its spectacular introduction. Maybe it is not the most powerful album in Thrash metal, but the disk has the highest quality, thus becoming the definitive album of the genre.