Richmond Chamber of Commerce 2018 - Page 7

Leadership Madison County Update Th e 2017-2018 Leadership Madison County class began their journey in learning more about the Madison County Community in August 2017 with a retreat at Th e Kentucky Leadership Center. Since the retreat the group has traveled to diff erent locations throughout Madison County learning about topics like local government, human resources, and agriculture. Th e program will fi nish out in the May 2018 with a graduation ceremony. Th e mission of Leadership Madison County is to provide current and future leaders of Madison County, Kentucky with the information, skills and network opportunities to make positive changes in our community. Th is mission is carried out through planning and collaboration with many people across the county. Each month the group focuses on a diff erent topic to learn about in Madison County. Th e program provides a way for people all across the county to get to know each other who otherwise they would not have had the opportunity to meet. It also gives leaders a chance to learn things about their community they didn’t know before. Many people wonder how learning about Madison County helps with your leadership skills. LMC Director Mendi Goble says it best when she says, “When you are better informed you make better decisions.” Each LMC class works on a class project throughout the 9 months they are in the program. Th ese projects usually focus on a human needs issue in Madison County. Th e 2017-18 class has chosen to address the issue of foster care, a growing area of concern in Madison County and Kentucky. Th ere are more than 8500 children in out-of-home care in Kentucky. Oft entimes when a child is removed from their home, they take any belongings with them in a trash bag. We would like to provide social workers with backpacks full of various age appropriate items for the children; to send a message of hope and love, and to let them know that, as leaders of Madison County, “We’ve got your back!” More than 500 graduates have completed the Leadership Madison County program. Th e chamber is a proud supporter of Leadership Madison County and is dedicated to helping the program continue to grow. Richmond Chamber of Commerce 2018 Board Members Jim Barnes Mayor, City of Richmond jbarnes@richmond.ky.us David Benge Cumberland Valley National Bank davidbenge@cvnb.com Dr. Michael T. Benson Eastern Kentucky University President president@eku.edu Jeff Brubaker Blue Grass Chemical Agent- Destruction Pilot Plant (BGCAPP) jeff ery.l.brubaker.civ@mail.mil JD Chaney Kentucky League of Cities jchaney@klc.org Tom Martin EKU Center for Economic Development tom.martin@eku.edu Kay McCarty Journey Boat Sales kay@bluegrassfrenchies.com David McFaddin EKU – VP Operations Government Relations & Regional Stewardship david.mcfaddin@eku.edu Bruce McIntosh Golden Corral brucemcintosh@mchllc Neal Metcalfe SVN Stone Commercial Real Estate neal.metcalfe@svn.com Lori Murphy-Tatum Richmond KY Tourism lmurphy@richmondky.us Reagan Taylor Judge Executive Madison County reagan.taylor@madisoncountyky.us Jennifer Napier- 2018 Board Chair Jennifer Napier Career Consulting 859-779-0885 jnapier@jncc4u.com Elmer Thomas, Superintendent Madison County Schools elmer.thomas@madison.kyschools.us Amy Scarborough AT&T amy.scarborough@att.com Brandon Sears Madison County Extension Offi ce brandon.sears@uky.edu David Stipes Richmond Industrial Development Corporation dstipes@richmondky.us Jeff VanWinkle Peoples Bank jvanwinkle@whitakerbank.com Jim Walters Positively Java jwalters@positivelyjava.com Ethan Witt Eastern Kentucky University ethan.witt@eku.edu Rodney Davis Davis Law rgd@davislawky.com Myron Fisher Baldwin CPAs PLLC myron.fi sher@baldwincpas.com Mendi Goble, President/CEO Richmond Chamber of Commerce mendi@richmondchamber.com Vicki Jozefowicz Kentucky River Foothills jozef@foothillscap.org Richmond Kentucky 7