Quarry Southern Africa July 2017 - Page 19

Industry Awards 2017 Bronwyn Moore accepts the awards for Top Performer Independent Quarry and Top Independent Performer (2016) on behalf of Midmar Crushers. Daruis van Pletzen accepts the Top Perfomer (2016) Runner-up award on behalf of PPC Mooiplaas, which obtained a score of 99.50%. Runner-up PPC Mooiplaas by only 0.1%. Drift Laezonia, managed by Henk Wiltz, was presented with the award for Most Improved Operation (2016), in recognition of its impressive rankings climb from an audit score of 50.87% to one of 93.60% in just two years. The award for Best Physical Conditions went to Afrisam Newcastle, which achieved a score of 98.53%. The Top Performer: Independent Quarry (2016) award went to Midmar Crushers, which achieved a score of 99.10%, with IT Sivel Droogehoudt being named Runner-up in the same category. SPH Kundalila, now a member of the Raubex Group, was named Top Performing Group after achieving the highest average score across its 13 participating quarries. The group also scooped the honours for Top Performing Non-Quarry Group with an audit score of 99%. Recipients of Cluett Consulting special mention certificates • • Danny De Villiers accepts SPH Kundalila’s awards for Top Performing Group and Top Performing Non-Quarry Group. • • • • • • • • • Gert Coffee was named Aggregate Champion of the Year in recognition of his dedication and commitment to the aggregate industry and ASPASA. Afrimat Marble-Hall (Steven Bekker) Afrimat Qwa Qwa (Anton Marnewick) Afrimat Scottburgh Afrimat Ulundi/Umflolzi (Joe Malefane) Dorning Crushers (Dustin Elliot) Lafarge Qala (Marcel Fynn) Lafarge Richards Bay (Caiphus Mtinkulu) Lafarge Tygerberg (Marcel Fynn) Platistone (Shaun Molete) Raumix Crushco (Larry Kok) SPH Kundalila Bridgetown (Danny de Villiers) Rynhard Brits from Rietspruit Crushers and Maanda Nengome from Lafarge South each received an Environmental Excellence (2016) award, sponsored by Cluett Consulting, in recognition of their hard work and excellence. Several Environmental Practitioners were also singled out for a special mention: Andre Stoltz (Raubex Kimberely), Anthea Sheldon (SPH Kundalila), Danny De Villiers (SPH Kundalila), Louis de Wet (Afrimat) and Mart-Marie Joubert (Krokodil Sand). The final award handed out at the ceremony was a new one. A trophy for Aggregate Champion of the Year was awarded to Gert Coffee, in recognition of his dedication and commitment to not only the aggregate industry, but also ASPASA itself. Fulton Awards The Concrete Society of Southern Africa’s prestigious, biennial Fulton Awards recognise and honour excellence and innovation in the design and use of concrete. The winners of the 2017 awards were announced at a special Gala Dinner held as part of the Fulton Awards Weekend from 2 to 4 June at Champagne Sports Resort in the Drakensberg. The Fulton Awards began over 30 years ago as a tribute to the late Dr Sandy Fulton for his contribution to the understanding of concrete, its development and improvement. The 2017 awards featured brand new categories and a new approach to judging. Concrete Society CEO and director John Sheath explains the changes, saying, “We had drifted away from identifying all that was special and exceptional in the concrete, and in the opinion of the Fulton Awards Committee, we were focusing too much on the total project on hand, considering aspects that had little to do with the material.” Both the adjudication criteria and the entry categories for the 2017 Fulton Awards QUARRY SA | JULY 2017 _ 17