Pulse August 2017 - Page 61

ISPA FOUNDATION E FOUNDATION 2017 ach year the Mary Tabacchi Scholarship Committee works diligently to seek out dedicated and aspiring young profes- sionals in the spa and wellness industry. The Committee looks for individuals who not only ISPA FOUNDATION BOARD OF DIRECTORS succeed in academics, but also have a true passion and OFFICERS ISPA Foundation Mary Tabacchi Scholarship to CHAIRMAN Frank Pitsikalis ResortSuite LaTesha Council. Council is from Alexandria, Virginia VICE CHAIRMAN Sharilyn Abbajay Abbajay & Associates, LLC drive to better the industry. After a thorough selection process, the committee has decided to award the 2017 and is in her second year as a graduate student in the Master of Tourism Administration program at George Washington University. Council was selected from a group of highly qualified applicants, the largest applicant pool to date, after an extensive review DIRECTORS Todd Shaw ISPA Chairman Todd Hewitt ISPA Vice Chairman Lynne McNees ISPA President MEDICAL ADVISOR Brent Bauer, M.D. Mayo Clinic HONORARY BOARD MEMBERS Ruth Stricker The Marsh, A Center for Balance and Fitness Deborah Szekely WELLNESS WARRIOR process, which included a comprehensive application review and a video interview with the selection committee. The ISPA Foundation is proud to offer Council a US$5,000 scholarship to offset her education expenses, a complimentary registration and travel stipend to attend the 2017 ISPA Conference & Expo, a one-year ISPA student membership and a one-year mentor to help navigate her career LATESHA COUNCIL aspirations. Council hopes to work in spa operations and development post-graduation and, in the future, would like to apply her experience to own and operate a spa consulting business. It gives me great joy to announce this year’s winner and the continuation of the ISPA Foundation Mary Tabacchi Scholarship. Since the scholarship’s inception, the foundation has awarded 13 scholarships to deserving students and future industry leaders. I also want to extend a special thank you to the Mary Tabacchi Scholarship Committee, who worked hard to find such a fitting recipient in a pool of outstanding candidates. I encourage you The ISPA Foundation wishes to thank the following supporters for their generous contributions: to extend a warm congratulations to this year’s recipient and continue supporting the ISPA Foundation. LUMINARY Ruth Stricker —FRANK PITSIKALIS, ISPA FOUNDATION CHAIRMAN BENEFACTOR Dr. Howard Murad PATRON Red Door Spas ResortSuite l AUGUST 12: Deadline to be eligible for inclusion in the Live Auction. l SEPTEMBER 13: Deadline to be included in the printed Auction Catalog. l FOR MORE INFORMATION ON THE ISPA FOUNDATION or to donate an item to the Auction, visit attendISPA.com or email ashley.roberts@ispastaff.com. August 2017 ■ PULSE 59