Overture Magazine - 2015-2016 Season March-April 2016 - Page 14

{ orchestra roster 2015–2016 Season Marin Alsop — Music Director, Harvey M. and Lyn P. Meyerhoff Chair Jack Everly: Principal Pops Conductor, Markus Stenz: Principal Guest Conductor { M usic D i r e ctor} Marin Alsop Marin Alsop is an inspiring and powerful voice in the international music scene, a music director of vision and distinction who passionately believes that “music has the power to change lives.” She is recognized across the world for her innovative approach to programming and for her deep commitment to education and to the development of audiences of all ages. As Music Director of the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra since 2007, Maestra Alsop’s bold initiatives contribute to the wider community and reach new audiences. Shortly after her arrival in Baltimore, she and the orchestra launched “OrchKids,” a revolutionary program that provides music education, instruments, mentorship and inspiration to some of the city’s neediest young people. Under her leadership, the orchestra also offers adult amateur musicians the opportunity to play side-by-side with professional musicians through the BSO Academy and Rusty Musicians programs. Marin Alsop is the only conductor to receive the prestigious MacArthur Fellowship, and was inducted into the American Classical Music Hall of Fame in 2010. In 2013, she became the first woman to conduct the BBC’s Last Night of the Proms. Alsop became music director of the São Paulo Symphony Orchestra in July 2013. She is also music director of California’s Cabrillo Festival of Contemporary Music, and was appointed director of the graduate conducting program at the Peabody Conservatory of the Johns Hopkins University in September 2015. 12 O v ertur e | www. bsomusic .org Jonathan Carney ∫ Concertmaster, Ruth Blaustein Rosenberg Chair Madeline Adkins † Associate Concertmaster, Wilhelmina Hahn Waidner Chair Wyatt Underhill Assistant Concertmaster Rui Du* Kenneth Goldstein Boram Kang Wonju Kim Gregory Kuperstein Mari Matsumoto Gregory Mulligan Rebecca Nichols* E. Craig Richmond Kevin Smith Ellen Pendleton Troyer Andrew Wasyluszko Second Violins Qing Li Principal, E. Kirkbride and Ann H. Miller Chair Ivan Stefanović † Associate Principal Angela Lee ∫ Assistant Principal Leonid Berkovich Leonid Briskin