OSHEAN eCurrent - Page 2

WE ARE STRONGER TOGETHER. PRESIDENT’S LETTER OSHEAN is motivated by its commitment to members to deliver premium, affordable, broadband telecommunications, IP networking, and Above the Net services. It is the mission of OSHEAN to seek out innovative technology solutions that best align with its members’ objectives. Working collaboratively, OSHEAN continuously drives economic advantage and operational efficiency to improve the agility and responsiveness of member organizations. Welcome to the second edition of the eCurrent. We have timed this edition to coincide with the Cybersecurity Day event being held at Bryant University and hence, have themed this issue around the subject of security. It is no secret to anyone who will read this publication that security is at the forefront CLICK HERE of discussion in our community. OSHEAN recently held a long-term planning session to read Dave Marble’s Blog! with a number of our members which produced a resounding message that our collaboration on security should be a cornerstone issue as we move towards 2020. The planning session also revealed the many aspects of security we all face, from straight education, to policy development, to simulation and training exercises and BOARD OF DIRECTORS OUR STAFF David Porter, Chair of the Board Director, Media and Technology Services University of Rhode Island EXECUTIVE TEAM Roy Galang, Secretary of the Board Director of Technology Infrastructure Wheaton College Ray Mathieu, Treasurer of the Board CFO (Retired)  Providence Equity Partners Michael Kramer Chief Technology Officer Lifespan Corporation David Marble President and CEO david.marble@oshean.org Chip Tolbert Chief Operating Officer chip.tolbert@oshean.org Tim Rue Chief Technology Officer true@oshean.org TECHNICAL TEAM Donna-Marie Frappier Director of Technology Cranston Public Schools Kim Cournoyer Systems Administrator kim.cournoyer@oshean.org Chris LaRoux Director Warwick Public Library Jon Domen Senior Network Architect jon.domen@oshean.org Tom Thibodeau  Assistant Provost New England Institute of Technology Abdiel Eloi Support Engineer abdiel.eloi@oshean.org Suma Gaddam Chief Information Officer Care New England Kevin Longo Solutions Engineer kevin.longo@oshean.org John Spadaro Deputy Chief Information Officer Brown University Brandon Migliore Support Engineer Mark Lamson Director of Technology Westerly Public Schools Brian Schaefer Network Engineer brian.schaefer@oshean.org brandon.migliore@oshean.org Allan Zawadowicz Jr. Network Engineer allan.zawadowicz@oshean.org 2 | CURRENT 2015-2016 BUSINESS TEAM actual implementations of protection services such as DDoS mitigation. In this edition, we have drawn from the expertise of OSHEAN members and beyond to our counterparts in other regions of the country to try and provide a glimpse of best Ralph Fasano Director, Member Services ralph.fasano@oshean.org practice perspectives and service examples. OSHEAN is starting to increase the focus Nimota Garcia Communications Administrator nimota@oshean.org several Friday Forums, including one that recently convened to focus on ITL and ITSM on Security with the establishment of our security Working Group, Shore Patrol, and programs. We hope you enjoy this edition and if you are fortunate enough to join us, the Cybersecurity Day event at Bryant. Rob Gay Director, Technical Programs and Services rob@oshean.org Cheers, Jody Gill Manager, Accounting jody@oshean.org David Marble Pam McCarthy Executive Assistant pam.mccarthy@oshean.org David Marble President and CEO Mark Montalto Director, Business Development mark.montalto@oshean.org Allan Ramella Senior Product Manager allan.ramella@oshean.org Greg Silva Member Services Rep./ Website & Social Media Coordinator greg.silva@oshean.org Melanie Turcotte Manager, Business Operations melanie@oshean.org