NTX Magazine Volume 9 - Page 76

REGIONAL SPOTLIGHT UT Southwestern Medical Center: Nobel-winning discoveries and life-changing innovation “Individuals have better ideas if they're connected to rich, diverse networks of other individuals. If you put yourself in an environment with lots of different perspectives, you yourself are going to have better, sharper, more original ideas.” - Steven Johnson, New York Times best-selling author While all of the researchers at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center make up its rich, diverse network of individuals, an astounding number – five – have been recognized for their work with the prestigious Nobel Prize. Dr. Thomas Südhof, adjunct professor of neuroscience, was one of three scientists awarded the 2013 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for solving the mystery of how a cell organizes its transport system. By understanding how cells produce and export molecules to the right place at the right time, science has a better understanding of how disturbances in this system contribute to conditions such as neurological diseases, diabetes and immunological disorders. The 2011 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine was awarded to Dr. Bruce Beutler, director of the Center for the Genetics of Host Defense, and two other scientists for their investigations into the immune system. His discovery has triggered an explosion of research in innate immunity, opening up new avenues for the development of prevention and therapy against infections, cancer and inflammatory diseases. From left, Dr. Bruce Beutler, Dr. Michael Brown and Dr. Joseph Goldstein Dr. Johann Deisenhofer, whose research revealed important structural aspects of the process of photosynthesis, received the 1988 Nobel Prize in Chemistry. The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, which awards the Nobel Prize, describes photosynthesis as the most important chemical reaction on earth. Dr. Deisenhofer’s ongoing work is helping UT Southwestern advance medical science at the molecular level by determining the structures of proteins involved in disease. Drs. Michael Brown and Joseph Goldstein personify the team dynamic at the heart of UT Southwestern’s approach to research. They share the 1985 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for their discovery of the underlying mechanisms of cholesterol metabolism. Their findings led to the development of statin drugs, cholesterol-lowering compounds which have become the most widely prescribed medications in the United States for reducing the risk of heart disease and stroke. North Texas is an ideal location for accelerating ground-breaking discoveries such as these at UT Southwestern. With the most diverse economy in Texas powered by a logistics hub stretching around the globe, the region connects research with industry that fuels the development, launch and growth of new patents, licenses, products and companies. This vibrant, innovative environment is a magnet to researchers and prospective students from around the world. DFW HOSPITAL COUNCIL education • networking • collaboration 85 Hospital Members 95 Business Members 48 Years of Support www.dfwhc.org UTSW Medical Center has a long history of multiple Nobel Prize winning scientists on staff. 74 WWW.NTC-DFW.ORG SUMMER 2018