New Zealand Commercial Design Trends Series NZ Commercial Design Trends Vol. 30/9 - Page 6

Learning is a life-long process, and it’s not limited to the four walls of a classroom. Learning is just as likely to happen in peer-to-peer settings, in the wider community, or through interactive technology. This sea change in thinking is reflected in the multifaceted approach to tertiary education, as exemplified by the new MIT Manukau campus. @DavidJideas facebook.com/trendsideas David Johnson MIT Manukau not only provides a wide range of different learning opportunities for students, it also takes the concept of accessibility more literally than most tertiary institutions – the campus is integrated with a new transport interchange. Trains arrive at the Manukau station beneath the building, and buses pull up directly alongside. Both MIT and Auckland Transport benefit from the high exposure, and the traditional barriers to study are removed as commuters and students animate the mezzanine floors and stairs within the vast atrium. The integration of transport hubs with commercial buildings and even apartments is commonplace overseas, and we can expect to see more exciting developments here in the coming years. In this issue we also profile a new Australian tertiary facility – the Tyree Energy Technologies Building at the University of New South Wales. Here, again, the design reflects changing teaching methodologies, with an emphasis on sustainability, collaboration and opportunities for interaction, much like the modern offices we profile elsewhere in the book. All these new projects are indicative of the growing move towards activity-based working, where one size does not fit all. Workers and students are given every encouragement to be the very best they can be, and the results speak for themselves. All this and so much more – check out the dramatic Interlace and Eliza apartment buildings, which are truly out of the ordinary. Happy reading 6 Editorial Editorial Director Paul Taylor Home Series Editor Kathleen Kinney Digital Editor James Gilbert Subeditor Jane McKenzie Senior Writer Colleen Hawkes Staff Writer Charles Moxham Email editorial@trendsideas.com International Business President Judy Johnson – judy.johnson@trendsideas.com General Manager Trends Media Group Louise Messer Director of Strategic Planning Andrew Johnson – andrew.johnson@trendsideas.com Executive Assistant Marinka Simunac Sales Director Asia Hans Geese – hans.geese@trendsideas.com Media Sales Adrian Law – adrian.law@trendsideas.com Ben Trethewey – ben.trethewey@trendsideas.com John Twigg – john.twigg@trendsideas.com Leslie Johnson – leslie.johnson@trendsideas.com Shailan Patel – shailan.patel@trendsideas.com Sonia Fredrick – sonia.fredrick@trendsideas.com Sales & Marketing Co-ordinators Lana Tropina-Egorova, Anna McLeod Email sales@trendsideas.com Production Agency Manager Annette Nortje Operational Account Manager Olya Taburina Project & Client Co-ordinator Terri Patrickson Client Co-ordinator Marijana Zeba Graphic Designers Joan Clarke, Sasha Fowler Staff Photographer Jamie Cobel Image Technician Ton Veele DV Camera Operator/Production Manager Bevan Read TV Editor Gene Lewis Digital Marketing Co-ordinator Miha Matelic Digital Production Assistant Anthony Hunt Email production@trendsideas.com Distribution General Manager Distribution Tina Kapp-Kailea Merchandiser Karen Arthur Distribution Gordon & Gotch Email subscriptions@trendsideas.com Finance Financial Controller Simon Groves – simon.groves@trendsideas.com Finance Manager Naresh Unka Accounts Manager Nina Adam Accounts Assistant Kirstie Paton David Johnson Chairman and Publisher Highlights Managing Editor John Williams – john.williams@trendsideas.com IT & Administration IT Systems Clint Lewis 44 Trends Publishing New Zealand Ltd ISSN 1175-5121 (Print) ISSN 2230-6927 (Online) Private Bag 11908, Ellerslie, Auckland 1542, New Zealand Level 2, 49B Main Highway, Ellerslie, Auckland 1051, New Zealand Tel: (+64 9) 571 5700 Fax: (+64 9) 571 5701 Email: info@trendsideas.com Website: Trendsideas.com 81 Selected by Managing Editor John Williams Trends is published in: Australia, China, Hong Kong, India, Malaysia, New Zealand, Singapore, UAE and the USA. Pre-press Trends Production Services An exposed white diagrid defines the exterior of the new MIT Manukau Campus and Transport Interchange. The diagrid facade references traditional weaving patterns that express the idea of both technology and craft. The new five-storey Harley Gray Building is literally the new heart of Middlemore Hospital – a primary function is to optimise patient and visitor flow. It also contains a suite of operating theatres and a neo-natal unit. Auckland’s population is expected to reach 2.3m within 50 years. Aecom’s Isabella Franks looks at how Vancouver, a city of similar size, successfully transformed its city centre into a dense urban community. More ideas, information and inspiration plus the full multimedia experience at trendsideas.com facebook.com/trendsideas twitter.com/trendsideas pinterest.com/trendsideas blog.trendsideas.com All rights reserved. Trends is subject to copyright in its entirety. The contents may not be reproduced in any form, either in whole or in part, without written permission of the Publisher. No responsibility is accepted for unsolicited material, including transparencies. Trends also accepts no responsibility for loss of submitted manuscripts, photographs or artwork. Opinions expressed in Trends are those of the contributors, not necessarily those of Trends Publishing International Ltd. While every effort has been made to ensure the accuracy of the information in this publication, the Publisher assumes no responsibility for errors or omissions or for any consequences of reliance on this publication. To enquire about permission to copy cuttings for internal management and information purposes, contact the PMCA, Newspaper House, 93 Boulcott St, Wellington, ph (04) 498 4487, email renee@pmca.co.nz