New Germany Community Guide 2016 - Page 18

One of the goals of the department is to make sure firefighters are always prepared to deal with the situations they may encounter. Today, training is more important than ever because the nature of fire fighting has evolved over the years. Equipment to fight fires has also evolved, and this is another reason that ongoing training is vital. Firefighters must be comfortable with, and understand the equipment before they are called upon to use it at a fire scene. In 2014, the department purchased traffic safety equipment, including four hand-held lighted stop/slow signs, five lighted traffic cones, and traffic vests for each member. “The number-one chance of injury or death on any call is being hurt in a roadside accident in which the fire department member is struck by a vehicle,” Ruschmeier said. Two other newer pieces of equipment for the New Germany Fire Department include an automated external defibrillator (AED) – a portable device that checks heart rhythm and, if necessary, delivers an electric shock – and an AutoPulse, designed to perform CPR chest compressions automatically. Ruschmeier said he appreciates all the people who attended the 35th annual firemen’s softball tournament which took place Aug. 5-7. Fireworks were provided by the New Germany Fire Relief Association, and set off at Lindstrom Park after the last game. Twenty local teams signed up for the games, which took place all day Saturday and Sunday. New Germany Fire Department participates in community events, such as National Night Out. Photos by Herald Journal Publishing Past chiefs New Germany Fire Department past chiefs are the following: Conrad Neustel, 1902; JJ Schlecter, 19031907; Albert Groenke, 1908-1910; HD Mielke/Wm. Stender, 1911; Wm. Stender/Albert Groenke, 19121916; Wm. Stender, 1917-1919; Fred Hein, 1920; Gust Lohrke, 1921-1922; Fred Hein, 1923-1924; Oscar Trittabaugh, 1925; Hy Steinke, 1925; Herman Roepke, 1926-1933; Herman Briesemeister, 1934; Herman Roepke, 1935-1945; Albert Lueck, 1946; Louis Mielke, 1947; Ralph Stahlke, 1948-1965; Viron Roepke, 19651967; Harlan Wolter, 1968-1991; Steve Van Lith, 19912003; Bruce Fillbrandt, 2004; Steve VanLith, 20052012; Daniel Ruschmeier, 2013-present. HOLLYWOOD eating& Hollywood Heating &irAir 3390 Cty. Rd. 123 Watertown A Jason Bauer, Owner (952) 955-3844 (952) 955-3864 Fax 18 2016-17 Edition City of Mayer Community Guide NEW GERMANY