Network Communications News (NCN) October 2016 - Page 3

CONTENTS Contents THE UK’S NUMBER ONE NETWORK INFRASTRUCTURE MAGAZINE October 2016 October 2016 INSIDE… EUROPEAN HARMONY: SPECIAL FEATURE: SWITCHES & ROUTERS UPDATES TO THE CONSTRUCTION PRODUCTS REGULATION CLEAR VISION: FUTURE PROOFING THE WORKPLACE Group Editor: Russell Drury 01353 616105 | russell@allthingsmedialtd.com Designer: Jon Appleton 01353 616114 | jon@allthingsmedialtd.com Group Advertisement Manager: Kelly Byne 01634 673163 | kelly@allthingsmedialtd.com Advertisement Manager: Francesca Brisk 01634 673163 | francesca@allthingsmedialtd.com Studio Manager: Ben Bristow 01634 673163 | ben@allthingsmedialtd.com Business Support Administrator: Carol Gylby 01634 673163 | carol@allthingsmedialtd.com Managing Director: David Kitchener 5 Editorial Special feature: Switches & routers 01634 673163 | david@allthingsmedialtd.com 7 Industry News 26 Smart switches 01634 673163 | alan@allthingsmedialtd.com The latest news, partnerships, training news, comment, approvals and events in the network infrastructure industry. 10 Talking Point Andy Pearce at Arkadin explains why unified communication is at the heart of the future of work. 12 On the case Who is putting what in where. 15 Hot topic Jack Bedell-Pearce of 4D explains why UK data centres are the unsung heroes of the tech revolution. 17 Project Focus Michael Crane reports on SSE Enterprise Telecoms’ connectivity solution for Brightstar. 20 Cloud security Martyn Williams of Copa-Data UK, discusses three steps manufacturers should take to stay safe in the cloud. Paul Routledge of D-Link explains how to use smart switches to make company networks easier to manage, and to enable businesses applications to flow. 28 Switches and routers round up A round up of the latest switches and routers available to installers and end users. 23 CPR requirements Nancy De Clerck of Nexans takes a look at the Construction Products Regulation (CPR) updates. Publishing Director: Alan Goodes Accounts: 01634 673163 | accounts@allthingsmedialtd.com ABC membership approved, pending first audit. The editor and publishers do not necessarily agree with the views expressed by contributors nor do they accept responsibility for any errors in the transmission of the subject matter in this publication. In all matters the editor’s decision is final. Editorial contributions to NCN are welcomed, and the editor reserves the right to alter or abridge text prior to publication. © Copyright 2016. All rights reserved. Printed by Pensord Tram Road, Pontllanfraith Blackwood, NP12 2YA 32 Essential Selection The latest products available to installers and end users. 34 Know How As the LAN environment gets increasingly complex, Tim Widdershoven of Ideal Networks issues some guidance to help technicians identify the source of errors in complex LAN environments. Head office & Accounts: Suite 14, 6-8 Revenge Road, Lordswood, Kent ME5 8UD T: +44 (0)1634 673163 | F: +44 (0)1634 673173 Editorial Office: Alexander House, 38 Forehill, Ely, Cambridgeshire CB7 4AF T: +44 (0)1353 616114 | F: +44 (0)1634 673173 3 03 Contents.indd 3 03/10/2016 11:52