Network Communications News (NCN) NCN-Sept2017 - Page 3

CONTENTS Contents THE UK’S NO.1 NETWORK INFRASTRUCTURE MAGAZINE September 2017 4 Editorial 38 Company Showcase NCN’s editor Simon King on bottlenecks in local data networks A pick of the industry’s latest and greatest products 6 Industry News 42 Know How Keep your finger on the industry pulse Sonus UK & Ireland’s Kevin Baynes on network security 10 Talking Point Tufin’s Reuven Harrison on the need to plan for chaos 44 Know How Next Generation Data’s Steve Davis on ensuring date centre efficiency 14 On the Case Network Communications News September 2017 Flexible AND Scalable IT-INFRASTRUCTURE SOLUTIONS Copper & Fibre Cables | Pre-Terminated Fibre On-Demand | Cabinets & Racks Climate-Controlled Enclosures | Network Testers & Tool Kits | Power | Hardware 00800-22552269 (CALLBBOX) BLACK-BOX.EU/ITINFRASTRUCTURE inside... Special Feature: Special feature: Hot Topic: Test Equipment & Tools under the spotlight Latest developments in fibre optic & copper cabling The five deadly sins of privileged access management THE FIVE DEADLY SINS OF PRIVILEGED ACCESS MANAGEMENT Editor: Simon King 07973 386724 | simon@allthingsmedialtd.com Editor in Chief: Daniel J Sait Projects on the go this month 01634 673163 | dan@allthingsmedialtd.com News Editor: Claire Fletcher 16 Hot Topic claire.fletcher@allthingsmedialtd.com BeyondTrust’s Morey J Haber on data breach risks Designer: Jon Appleton jon@allthingsmedialtd.com Group Advertisement Manager: Kelly Byne 01634 673163 | kelly@allthingsmedialtd.com Advertisement Manager: Michael Sheridan Special features: 01634 673163 | michael.sheridan@allthingsmedialtd.com Studio Manager: Ben Bristow 01634 673163 | ben@allthingsmedialtd.com Business Support Administrator: Carol Gylby 01634 673163 | carol@allthingsmedialtd.com Managing Director: David Kitchener 01634 673163 | david@allthingsmedialtd.com Accounts: 01634 673163 | susan@allthingsmedialtd.com Test Equipment & Tools Fibre Optic & Copper Cabling 22 Crippling Cashflow 30 Probing Around IDEAL Networks’ Tim Widdershoven on the cost of cable certifiers AFL Global’s Maury Wood on the evolution of inspection probes 24 Be Prepared 34 Target Practice VIAVI Solutions’ Steve Brown talk gigabit Emtelle’s Colin Kirkpatrick on the Digital Single Market ABC membership approved, pending first audit. The editor and publishers do not necessarily agree with the views expressed by contributors nor do they accept responsibility for any errors in the transmission of the subject matter in this publication. In all matters the editor’s decision is final. Editorial contributions to NCN are welcomed, and the editor reserves the right to alter or abridge text prior to publication. © Copyright 2017. All rights reserved. 26 Test Equipment & Tools Products @NCNMag www.networkcommunicationsnews.co.uk Suite 14, 6-8 Revenge Road, Lordswood, Kent ME5 8UD T: +44 (0)1634 673163 | F: +44 (0)1634 673173 September 2017 | 3