Network Communications News (NCN) December 2016 - Page 3

CONTENTS Contents THE UK’S NUMBER ONE NETWORK INFRASTRUCTURE MAGAZINE December 2016 December 2016 INSIDE… SPECIAL FEATURE: IP SECURITY HOT TOPIC: PUBLIC SECTOR CENTRALISATION TALKING POINT: CONNECTIVITY IS KING Group Editor: Russell Drury 01353 616105 | russell@allthingsmedialtd.com News Editor: Claire Fletcher 01353 616112 | claire.fletcher@allthingsmedialtd.com Designer: Jon Appleton 01353 616114 | jon@allthingsmedialtd.com Group Advertisement Manager: Kelly Byne 01634 673163 | kelly@allthingsmedialtd.com Advertisement Manager: Francesca Brisk 01634 673163 | francesca@allthingsmedialtd.com Studio Manager: Ben Bristow 01634 673163 | ben@allthingsmedialtd.com Business Support Administrator: Carol Gylby 01634 673163 | carol@allthingsmedialtd.com Managing Director: David Kitchener 01634 673163 | david@allthingsmedialtd.com Publishing Director: Alan Goodes 4 Editorial Change is good. 6 Industry News If it’s hot and happening, it’s in here. 12 Talking Point Take a big bite out of Big Data. 14 On the case Boundary pushing projects. 16 Hot topic The public sector needs to centralise operations. 18 Home delivery! PON: The evolution of data delivery to the home. 34 Essential Selection Connect with the latest kit. 38 Know How 01634 673163 | alan@allthingsmedialtd.com Special feature: IP security 22 CCTV cameras – security device or cyber risk? James Wickes, CEO of Cloudview, takes a view. 25 Thoroughly modern management Hervé Dhélin of EfficientIP examines how companies cope with a changing world. Accounts: 01634 673163 | susan@allthingsmedialtd.com ABC membership approved, pending first audit. The editor and publishers do not necessarily agree with the views expressed by contributors nor do they accept responsibility for any errors in the transmission of the subject matter in this publication. In all matters the editor’s decision is final. Editorial contributions to NCN are welcomed, and the editor reserves the right to alter or abridge text prior to publication. © Copyright 2016. All rights reserved. Printed by Pensord Tram Road, Pontllanfraith Blackwood, NP12 2YA 28 Mind the gap! Paul German, CEO of VoipSec, examines the issues around securing VoIP applications. 30 IP Security Products Virtual world protection Head office & Accounts: Suite 14, 6-8 Revenge Road, Lordswood, Kent ME5 8UD T: +44 (0)1634 673163 | F: +44 (0)1634 673173 Editorial Office: Alexander House, 38 Forehill, Ely, Cambridgeshire CB7 4AF T: +44 (0)1353 616114 | F: +44 (0)1634 673173 Dymo keeps it simple. 3 03 Contents.indd 3 02/12/2016 16:35