Network Communications News (NCN) August 2016 - Page 3

CONTENTS Contents THE UK’S NUMBER ONE NETWORK INFRASTRUCTURE MAGAZINE August 2016 Providing Multi Manufacturer Integrated Solutions Application Design Fibre Termination Service Technical Support Training August 2016 • Over 10,000 Products In Stock 5 Editorial Security scare. 6 Industry News The latest news, partnerships, training news, comment, approvals and forthcoming events in the network infrastructure industry. 10 Talking Point Valerie Maguire of Siemon explains why IEEE 802.11ac technology is a game changer in enterprise environments. 12 On the case Who is putting what in where. 15 Hot topic Steve Martin at the Electrical Contractors’ Association (ECA) looks at the differences between value engineering and cost cutting. 16 Q&A NCN chats to Ian Wilkie of Brand-Rex about becoming part of Leviton’s Network Solutions division and future plans for the company. 19 Project Focus Michael Crane talks to Hanwha Techwin Europe about its work with Edwardian Hotels London. 22 Ultra high performance data centres Jos Baart of Flexenclosure looks at how ultra fine tuning of a data centre’s performance is becoming the new norm. 25 IT load Kevin Brown of Schneider Electric discusses the impact the IT load has on data centre performance. 35 Essential Selection The latest products available to installers and end users. 38 Know How Simon Moffatt at ForgeRock explains how identity can make a smart building truly smart. • Consignment Stock Available • Next Day Delivery VISIT US AT WWW.QEDGROUP.CO.UK OR CALL +44 (0)1772 336111 INSIDE… SPECIAL FEATURE: INTELLIGENT BUILDINGS GAME CHANGER: THE IMPACT OF IEEE 802.11AC WHAT A PERFORMANCE: FINE TUNING THE DATA CENTRE Editor: Michael Crane 01353 616117 | michael@allthingsmedialtd.com Assistant Editor: Russell Drury 01353 616105 | russell@allthingsmedialtd.com Designer: Jon Appleton 01353 616114 | jon@allthingsmedialtd.com Advertisement Manager: Francesca Brisk 01634 673163 | francesca@allthingsmedialtd.com Head of Production/Circulation: Sam Broad 01634 673163 | sam@allthingsmedialtd.com Business Support Administrator: Carol Gylby 01634 673163 | carol@allthingsmedialtd.com Managing Director: David Kitchener 01634 673163 | david@allthingsmedialtd.com Publishing Director: Alan Goodes 01634 673163 | alan@allthingsmedialtd.com Accounts: 01634 673163 | accounts@allthingsmedialtd.com Special feature: Intelligent buildings 30 Coherent building management systems Kevin Sheldrake at Carlo Gavazzi believes a unified approach to control services will consequently improve a building’s performance. 32 Intelligent buildings round up A round up of the latest intelligent building products and solutions available to installers and end users. ABC membership approved, pending first audit. The editor and publishers do not necessarily agree with the views expressed by contributors nor do they accept responsibility for any errors in the transmission of the subject matter in this publication. In all matters the editor’s decision is final. Editorial contributions to NCN are welcomed, and the editor reserves the right to alter or abridge text prior to publication. © Copyright 2016. All rights reserved. Printed by Pensord Tram Road, Pontllanfraith Blackwood, NP12 2YA Head office & Accounts: Suite 14, 6-8 Revenge Road, Lordswood, Kent ME5 8UD T: +44 (0)1634 673163 | F: +44 (0)1634 673173 Editorial Office: Alexander House, 38 Forehill, Ely, Cambridgeshire CB7 4AF T: +44 (0)1353 616114 | F: +44 (0)1634 673173 3 03 Contents.indd 3 02/08/2016 15:50