National Paranormal Society NPS FOCUS June 2016 - Page 45

According to writer John Jeong, the Consolation Church stood in a forest between the Butler County and Covington County lines. The old wooden church, whose cemetery has graves from the 1800s, had been described as a place where a Gaelic banshee cries out, signaling the death of a church participant. If that isn’t strange enough, red-eyed hellhounds allegedly patrol the church’s cemetery. In the cemetery are the graves of Confederate soldiers who also walk in the night. Two child ghosts also have also been seen by visitors. One is a laughing boy, able to drop the temperature around the living, who tries to play ball, and those he engages will not live long. A small skipping girl slips along the road until she disappears.

This haunt even involves a ghostly black 1964 Ford pickup truck. According to this legend, during a full moon, the truck will chase out trespassers. If the truck catches up to them, it will result in a deadly accident for all involved. Possibly the strangest story is related to the outhouse behind the church. According to some visitors, if the outhouse (complete with crescent moon) was entered, the door shuts and locks, and cannot be opened except from the outside. Reporters of the Greenville Advocate once

went to the church to investigate these claims, and came back with no evidence, concluding that these were

urban legends passed down through local families. At the time of this investigation the reporters did notice the harm to the property from curious trespassers. The church was damaged and vandalized, the pews gone, with a pentagram on the floor allegedly drawn by teenagers. Reporter, Erin Edgemon, wrote that on February 17, 2015 a fire had destroyed the former Baptist Church. Foul play was suspected, and according to the sheriff’s office, the church was abandoned and had no electrical power. The old graveyard in front of the church may be all that remains as a testament to the stories in the area. If you visit this place, please check for any signs that ban trespassing and be respectful in the cemetery. It is considered one of the top ten haunted cemeteries in Alabama.

now home to an art museum and café. According to Callum Swift, the ghostly voices and strange lights are still seen after the establishments close for the evening. The block where this building stands still retains a feel for a time long gone by. According to legend, this hotel and its town, just 40 miles out of Montgomery, has its share of spirits, ghostly piano players and a feel that the past is still with the present in some way from the jails to this historic hotel.

According to teams who have researched the building, it was built in August 1880 by Robert A. Fleming and named it after his wife "Josephine". It's also been called the Drummer's Central and Commercial Hotel. The old hotel has a vibrant history of parties and dinners and guests held by the hotel for the Union Springs community. In 1903 renovations started under Mr. F.F. Ravenscroft. Even in May of 1951, bird hunters brought in hundreds of quail. The hotel also ordered in oysters for special dinners. There were masquerade balls and dances from orchestras out of Georgia. The hotel remained in service for over a century. While there have been several renovations, the original entrance is still the same, and there are parts which still show some of the original decor. The original windows remain on the second floor, raised for balcony seating. The still grand staircase in the

Leaving Red Level we head north to Union Springs and the 1880’s Josephine Hotel.

Located on N. Prairie Street, the old Josephine Hotel is

Union Springs

Josephine Hotel