Multisport Magazine Issue 22 - Page 57

TRIATHLON VICTORIA 201 6 VICTORIAN D U AT H LO N S E R I E S T he 2016 Victorian Duathlon Series was held in stunning conditions across July to October (5 races) which is unheard of for a Melbourne Winter! Held on the Yarra Boulevard in Richmond, the series provides something for everyone, no matter their age, gender, cultural background or ability, with kids, dash and sprint distance duathlons. The 2016 course records went to Luke Burns and Karen Barrow in the On Sprint with times of 55:34 and 1:01 respectively, whilst the Scody Dash best times came from Dash Series winners Matthew Crowley (27:44) and Brooke McCullough (29:23). The highlight of Race 2 for many in the series was the second annual Multiclass State Championships. Multiclass is a division for athletes with an intellectual disability. The Championships offered three levels of racing – beginner and intermediate categories for those new to duathlon, and advanced for the experienced athletes who raced over the Scody Dash course. Under the guidance of Inclusive Sports Training Head Coach Liz Gosper, the athletes have flourished gaining confidence, skills and fitness. They were all congratulated, not only on their racing achievements, but for their sportsmanship and commitment to training and racing. Many athletes recorded personal best times, cutting up to five minutes from their time throughout the series. We look forward to watching more PB’s fall in the triathlon season. New to the series in 2016 was the handicapped 'Grand Final'. Held the day after the AFL Grand Final and in a Victorian first for duathlon, athletes were allocated a handicap based off their best time throughout the series and started in reverse order, with the fastest competitor ‘running/cycling’ through the field. The first past the post rule saw the 'front markers' too quick and the inaugural winners Brendan Dunn and Breanna Turnball (Dash – Open), Andre Ascui and Molly Thatcher (Dash –Multiclass), Lance Purdon and Jenny Hosking (Sprint) crowned 'Grant Final Champions'. Thank you host clubs Yarra Tri, Hawthorn Triathlon Club, Bayside Triathlon Club and Melbourne Triathlon Club for their efforts and time running a race each, special thanks to Race Directors Esther McConnell, Jeb Penrose, Christian Steguseit, David Cutajar and Grant Cosgriff. ON SPRINT SERIES WINNERS Female 15-19 years 20-24 years 25-29 years 30-34 years 35-39 years 40-44 years 45-49 years 50-54 years 55-59 years 60-64 years Winner Kodey Hodgson Ally Duff Hannah Blanchett Joanne Ritson Michelle Bond Caitlin Wade Michelle Ruitenbeek Sarah McLeod Jenny Hosking Male 15-19 years 20-24 years 25-29 years 30-34 years 35-39 years 40-44 years 45-49 years 50-54 years 55-59 years 60-64 years Winner Swapneel Chouhan Simon Hearn Jarron Cole Paul Speed Brett Franklin Anthony Woodward Sam Stewart Daryn James Kevin King Peter Rowland S C O DY D A S H S E R I E S W I N N E R S MULTISPORT MAGAZINE | 57