Lab Matters Summer 2019 - Page 32

MEMBERSHIP APHL 2019: Where Science and Public Health Meet Over 700 public health scientists and administrators descended on St. Louis for the newly rebranded APHL annual meeting. Dr. Mona Hanna-Attisha, author of “What the Eyes Don’t See” was the Kati Kelley Lecturer, speaking about her work as a pediatrician during the Flint, MI water crisis. APHL was also pleased to announce the recipients of its annual awards for outstanding achievements in laboratory science, creative approaches to solving today’s public health challenges and exemplary support of laboratories serving the public’s health. n Healthiest Laboratory Award Colorado Department of Public Health and Environments Laboratory Services Division Thomas E. Maxson Education, Training and Workforce Development Award Erin Bowles, MT(ASCP) Clinical Laboratory Network Coordinator Wisconsin State Laboratory of Hygiene On the Front Line Award One of things I’ve enjoyed the most is networking with my colleagues. Having the opportunity to talk about some of the challenges I’m facing and get expert advice is invaluable.” 30 LAB MATTERS Summer 2019 Emilio Esteban, DVM, MBA, MPBM, PhD Chief Scientist Food Safety and Inspection Service, US Department of Agriculture Emerging Leader Award Marie-Claire Rowlinson, PhD, D(ABMM) Assistant Laboratory Director and CLIA Director Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Public Health Laboratories–Jacksonville Leadership in Biosafety and Biosecurity Award Silver Award Bryanne Shaw Biology Section Manager Minnesota Department of Agriculture Jason Mihalic, MBA Chemistry Office Chief Arizona Bureau of State Laboratory Services Gold Standard Award Jack Bennett ALAB Technical Leader, Analytical Services and Instrumentation Division Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory Champion of the Public Health Laboratory Award Patrick Breysse, PhD, CIH Director National Center for Environmental Health/Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry, US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Presidential Award Andy Cannons, PhD, HCLD/CC (ABB) Laboratory Director Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Public Health Laboratories–Tampa John Besser, PhD Deputy Chief, Enteric Diseases Laboratory Branch, US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Scott Hughes, PhD Associate Director, Environmental Sciences & Office of Safety & Emergency Preparedness & Response New York City Department of Health and Mental Hygiene Public Health Laboratory Philip Amuso, PhD, HCLD (ABB) Retired Lifetime Achievement Award John Ridderhof, DrPH, HCLD(ABB) Vice President, Diagnostic Microbiology Development Program PublicHealthLabs @APHL