KU Annual Report 2010 - Page 10

Making the KU Difference To quality KU Karingal Preschool Staff KU has long been recognised as a provider of high quality educational programs for young children. More recently, the National Quality Reform Agenda and the Early Years Learning Framework (EYLF) have created a greater community awareness of the importance of quality early childhood education and care. At KU Karingal staff exhibit characteristics and core values that distinguish a quality service, and encapsulate the principles of the EYLF: “belonging, being and becoming”, by welcoming all children and families, respecting and valuing children’s abilities and enriching opportunities for children’s learning. This is particularly important given the diversity of KU Karingal’s local community. KU Karingal is not an affluent service, however it is rich in positive and meaningful relationships. A high number of children with additional needs and from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds attend the service. The committed and dedicated team place children and families central to all that they do. The preschool is highly regarded within the local community and they maintain networks to support the children and families. During 2010, the NSW Department of Education and Training identified KU Karingal as a model for quality practice. The staff at KU Karingal are quiet and modest achievers, strong in empathy and exceptional in their professional and ethical practices. 10 KU Children’s Services Recognising talent and rewarding quality KU supports the broader early childhood community by providing awards to assist exceptional students undertaking early childhood studies at TAFE and University. These awards encourage continuing excellence within the sector and recognise the importance of having qualified and talented staff working with our children. 2010 KU Student Award recipients are: University Awards: TAFE Awards: Jasmine Ball University of Western Sydney Alyce Alexander Marie Anderson Jessie Cairns Tina Casey Sarah Costa Kelly Formosa Catherine Gilmore Ying (Mindy) Huang Tracy Holz Teresa Lisi-Krauter Heidi Patrick Icie Richardson Susan Trinh Laura Waddington Grace Wong Jessica Cullen Macquarie University Chelsea Daly Charles Sturt University Pen Sher University of New England Kate Tishler University of Notre Dame