JLUS Background Report sj_br_report_sm - Page 250

Beaufort County Noise Sensitive Uses Areas impacted by MTRs include the Town of Aurora, Town of Pantego,  Town of Belhaven, and Town of Bath. This area includes three high schools,  five elementary schools, and five other types of schools. There are no major  hospitals in the area, with the exception of a medical center in the Town of  Aurora.  The area includes over 30 churches that have the potential to be  impacted by overflight in MTRs.     Hyde County Noise Sensitive Uses Schools in the area include New Holland School, Mattamuskeet Elementary  School, Tiny Oak School, Swanquarter School, and Shallop Creek School.  There are several churches located along the southern area of Hyde County,  including Oyster Church, Calvary Church, and Swan Quarter Church. The  Cross Creek Health Care Center is located along the southern portion of  Hyde County, but is not located under a MTR.   Most of Beaufort County is under MTRs – VR‐084 with an operating floor of  100 ft. AGL covering the lower two‐thirds of the county, VR‐1046 and  VR‐1759 with respective operating floors of 200 ft. AGL and 500 ft. AGL  covering the northwest portion of the county, and VR‐1046 and IR‐012 with  an operating floor of 500 ft. AGL covering narrow corridors in the southern  portion of the county.                  Several MTRs (VR‐054, VR‐071, VR‐073, and VR‐084) pass over the southern  and northwestern portion of Hyde County.  The operating floor of these  MTRs is 100 ft. AGL.    Tyrrell County Noise Sensitive Uses A large portion of Tyrrell County is located under the Phelps MOA.  Schools  in the area are located in northern part of Tyrrell County in the Town of  Columbia. There are a few churches within the Military Operating Area,  including Cedar Grove Church, Gum Neck Church of Christ, Cabin Swamp  Church, and Holly Grove Church. The hospitals within Tyrrell County are  located north of the Phelps MOA which has an operating floor of 6,000 ft.  MSL.  A portion of the southwest part of the county is located under the  VR‐084 MTR with an operating floor of 100 ft. AGL and a portion of the land  along the shoreline of Albemarle Sound is within the VR‐085 MTR with an  operating floor of 500 ft. AGL.     Dare County Noise Sensitive Uses Most schools in Dare County are located on Roanoke Island, including  Manteo Elementary School, Nags Head Elementary School, Manteo Middle  School, Manteo High School, Dare County Alternative High, Wanchese  Christian Academy. In addition, several schools are located along the Outer  Banks near the Town of Kill Devil Hills. There are three churches located  along the eastern coast of Dare County, Shiloh United Methodist Church,  Mount Carmel United Methodist Church, Mount Mitchell Church. There are  also churches located on Roanoke Island and the Outer Banks. On the Outer  Banks, Fair Haven United Methodist Church and Lifeboat Community Church  are both located under MTRs. All hospitals in Dare County are located on  Roanoke Island and the northern portion of the Outer Banks.   Washington County Noise Sensitive Uses A majority of noise sensitive uses in Washington County are located within  the Town of Plymouth. The town is located under several MTRs including  VR‐043, VR‐073, and VR‐1713 with a minimum operating floor of 100 ft. AGL  and MTRs VR‐085 and VR‐1753 with a minimum operating floor of  500 ft. AGL.   There is one MTR within Dare County – VR‐073 which traverses the Outer  Banks between the Pea Island National Wildlife Refuge and Hatteras Island  to the south and the eastern shoreline of the county adjacent to the DCR.  The operating floor of the MTR in these areas is 100 ft. AGL.           Page 5.18‐6  Noise sensitive uses within the town include three elementary schools and a  high school, the Washington County Hospital and numerous churches. There  are also multiple churches located outside of the Town of Plymouth, across    Background Report