James Madison's Montpelier We The People Fall 2014 - Page 3

We T he People WE THE PEOPLE | FALL 2014 | CONTENTS 3 4 A More Complete American Story 9 Montpelier Celebrates the Constitution 10 200th Anniversary of the Burning of the White House 11 1814 Symposium 12 Building Democracy at Home and Abroad 14 The Spirit of Philanthropy 19 Stay Involved The Montpelier Foundation Board of Directors   Nancy N. Campbell, Chairman Kat Imhoff, President & CEO Sean T. O’Brien, Executive VP/COO Arthur H. Bryant, Jr., Secretary John J. Sponski, Treasurer Dennis M. Campbell Patricia Crowe Florence Fowlkes Eugene W. Hickok Margaret H. Jordan Dennis A. Kernahan Robert A. Leath John F. Macon II Gregory May Stephen T. McLean Stephanie K. Meeks Leigh B. Middleditch, Jr. Roger H. Mudd Frank Qiu Jack N. Rakove Cynthia M. Reusché Gail Serfaty Ella Strubel Alan Taylor Directors Emeritus Arthur J. Collias Walter W. Craigie David E. Gibson Joe Grills, Chairman Emeritus A. E. Dick Howard Ralph Ketcham William H. Lewis, Chairman Emeritus Richard Moe Louise B. Potter  Hunter R. Rawlings III William C. Remington Margaret B. Rhoads Peter G. Rice H. B. Sedwick III Elizabeth B. Waters Ex Officio Mrs. Henry E. I. duPont Mr. H. E. Irénée duPont II PHOTOGRAPHY CREDITS Ken Garrett: cover, pages 2-3, 3 (top inset), 4-5 Kenton Rowe: pages 2 (inset), 7 KMS Photography: pages 3 (middle inset), 9 (right), 11 (inset) Matthew Reeves: page 6, back cover Elizabeth Loring: page 8 Chuck Fazio Photography: page 9 (left) Drew Precious: pages 12, 13 Caroline Godfrey: pages 12, 13, 19 Kelley Spurlock Photography: page 14 The Carlyle Group: page 14 (inset) Jen Fariello: page 15 George Payne: page 17 Cloverdale Photography: page 18 Jeni Spencer: page 19 (inset) We The People is published by The Montpelier Foundation. © Copyright 2014 by The Montpelier Foundation. All rights reserved.