Intelligent Data Centres Issue 3 - Page 34

NOTE ello and welcome to the latest edition of Intelligent Data Centres. Our cover story this month features Trading Point Holdings, an international investment online brokerage firm based in Europe which is dedicated to delivering superior services in currency trading. H The company chose Rackspace to manage its hardware infrastructure and provide system maintenance support – a partnership which has achieved improved security, resiliency and scalability of the company’s infrastructure. The firm’s CIO, Andreas Loizides, talks us through the decision to work with Rackspace and the main benefits this has created. In this month’s ‘Industry Intelligence powered by the DCA’ feature, Steve Hone, CEO of the DCA, talks about the benefits of joining the Data Centre Alliance (DCA) Trade Association as a Corporate Partner and offers advice on how to get the most out of membership. Meanwhile, our ‘Editor’s Question’ this month explores some best practice advice for data centre modernisation. It comes after industry experts announced data centre spend in the Middle East and North Africa was expected to reach a record-high of nearly US$5 billion in 2019 as organisations continue to accelerate their Digital Transformation efforts. 34 Issue 03 LYNCHPIN MEDIA TEAM MANAGEMENT MANAGING PARTNER Richard Judd richard@lynchpinmedia.co.uk +44 7534 132 966 MANAGING PARTNER Stuart Lynch stuart@lynchpinmedia.co.uk +44 7514 807 117 EDITORIAL MANAGING EDITOR AND EDITOR, INTELLIGENT CIO ME, ICIO KUWAIT AND INTELLIGENT TECH CHANNELS In ‘The Edge’, Rik Williams, Data Centre Operations Manager at Node4, offers some tips for those looking for a data hosting provider, while Simon Bearne, Commercial Director at UK data centre operator, NGD, outlines why organisations should consider looking at data centres outside of London for increased value. We also get to know Steve Bowes- Phipps, Senior Consultant in the data centre practice at PTS Consulting, who tells us about life inside and outside the office, in our ‘Deep Dive’ feature. As always, there’s also a round-up of all the latest news in the data centre sector, while our ‘intelligent’ brands section looks at what’s new in operations, infrastructure, power and cooling, and facilities. I hope you enjoy the magazine and if you’d like to contribute to any future issues please do not hesitate to contact me by emailing jess@lynchpinmedia.co.uk Mark Bowen mark@lynchpinmedia.co.uk +44 20 3884 2225 EDITOR, INTELLIGENT DATA CENTRES AND I NTELLIGENT CISO Jess Phillips jess@lynchpinmedia.co.uk +44 203 890 4069 EDITOR, I NTELLIGENT CIO EUROPE Alix Pressley alix@lynchpinmedia.co.uk +44 20 3884 2225 EDITOR, INTELLIGENT CIO AFRICA Paul Rogers paul@lynchpinmedia.co.uk +44 20 3890 4084 EDITOR, INTELLIGENT CIO INDIA Partha Srinivasan partha@lynchpinmedia.co.uk +91 909 681 6957 DESIGN HEAD OF DESIGN AND PRODUCTION Pippa Sanderson pippa@lynchpinmedia.co.uk HEAD OF DIGITAL SERVICES Charles Brandreth charles@lynchpinmedia.co.uk WEB AND GRAPHIC DESIGNER Josh Peace josh@lynchpinmedia.co.uk JUNIOR GRAPHIC DESIGNER Lorna Murphy lorna@lynchpinmedia.co.uk SALES & MARKETING COMMERCIAL DIRECTOR SALES MANAGER MARKETING AND OPERATIONS MANAGER Michal Zylinski michal@lynchpinmedia.co.uk +48 883 746 917 Amy Poole amy@lynchpinmedia.co.uk +971 52 883 0211 Curtis Driscoll curtis@lynchpinmedia.co.uk +44 20 3884 2536 COUNTRY PARTNERS COUNTRY MANAGER – KUWAIT Rajesh Gandhi rajesh@lynchpinmedia.co.uk +965 6601 3056 COUNTRY MANAGER – KUWAIT Feroz Tapiya feroz@lynchpinmedia.co.uk +965 6616 6052 COUNTRY MANAGER – INDIA Partha Srinivasan partha@lynchpinmedia.co.uk +91 909 681 6957 Lynchpin Media © 2019 Jess Phillips Editor Intelligent Data Centres is a Lynchpin Media publication for IT data centre professionals. If you wish to subscribe for regular copies then please email info@lynchpinmedia.co.uk Lynchpin Media is a boutique publisher registered in the United Kingdom. Company number 8096230. 5 Burnside Court, Leominster Enterprise Park, Herefordshire, HR6 0LX www.intelligentdatacentres.com